The Time to Talk About Language Bias Is Now

Language bias shapes how society views a person and has consequences for people’s lives.

Cristina Oliva Patrick
Be Unique

--

Photo: WordClouds.com

My very first job in Oregon was a receptionist at a beauty parlor. I had to talk to people every day on the phone and face-to-face. I was very excited to finally be able to work in the U.S. I was professional, always on time, and I was working hard.

I got fired after a month because people (other white women) complained about my English and accent. I guess a very thick Italian accent with no hand gestures…

The owner (a white woman) suggested to me to rather pursue a database job or anything else behind a computer where I didn’t have to talk to the public. That turned out to be quite a good advice, I successfully work behind a computer ever since!

We are brainwashed into thinking that trustworthy and smart people should never have an accent.

I didn’t consider though that I was going to have to talk to supervisors and coworkers, mostly white Americans with little to no understanding about bias and microaggression.

Unfortunately, as people, we discriminate based on how other people talk as much as on how they look. Non-native speakers are

--

--

Cristina Oliva Patrick
Be Unique

Immigrant in the US. Non-native English speaker. Writing about my experience in US, unconscious bias, controversial topics, and everything I find interesting.