This is Why I Became A Couples Therapist

The three-minute story version

Sapir.
Be Unique

--

When I was in high school, I thought about becoming a sex therapist.

I believed most couples break up because of problems in bed or lack of passion.

The truth is most couples break up because of communications problems.

Both partners need to be able to share their thoughts, feelings, opinions, values, needs, frustrations, and joys.

Sometimes couples avoid speaking honestly and hide their true selves.

“People who have grown up in divorced or single parent households have little experience of what good marriages look like. If communication gets bad, so does sex, and because they feel hopeless about relationships, they don’t try to fix it, they just break up.”

-Tina B. Tessina

So why couples Therapists?

A relationship is one of my values.

I truly believe two people together can empower each other.

I have always seen all the benefits and the good things about being part of a team couple, having someone by your side.

Sometimes I hear people saying:

“Maybe I just not a relationship person. Maybe I am meant to stay alone.”

I think this is crap.

Most likely you haven’t found the right person to have a partnership with.

But as human beings, we are not designed to be alone for a long time.

We can survive better in a team. And we can make life easier in a team.

The fear to end up alone is very common those days.

Today people are too picky about their partners and they tend to give up on good potential partners for the wrong reasons.

Instead of caring about what really matters in the long run, they focus on the wrong things.

Instead of watching people hurt themselves.

Instead of watching people hurt their partners.

Instead of watching people run away or finish something which can actually turn to be the right thing for them.

Instead of all of those, I now have, as a certified couples therapist, the right tools to help people improve their relationship dramatically.

Sometimes even save it from a disaster.

I can give them the right tools, which may help them to heal their sick relationship.

Not every couple should stay together no matter what.

But if they came together so far and they are trying to work things out, there is a real chance they can save their relationship.

And knowing I have the ability to turn unhappy or unsatisfied couples into birds' love again is a damn good reason to invest myself into it.

--

--

Sapir.
Be Unique

I write to organize the mess inside my head.