Three years ago I was Homeless

Now life is good

Lawson Wallace
Be Unique

--

Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

It was a cold February morning in Minneapolis, I woke up and got dressed and finished packing. I shrugged on my backpack and grabbed my suitcase and headed out the door.

I left the shelter for the last time and took the short walk to the light rail
station.

Several hours later, after almost three years of being homeless, I got on
a plane to South Carolina for a whole new life.

The Salvation Army throws people out the door at five thirty or six o’clock in the morning, but if you get on GA, what they used to call welfare, you can live in a dorm room with nine or ten other guys, but you have to pay rent.

The next step is finding another place for you to stay, passing you through the system, but not helping you get employed or addressing what caused the homelessness to begin with.

The Salvation Army found me a place where I could stay for two years.
All this time, I had been talking to Olivia, An African-American Woman
I had met on Facebook.

We met two years after we started talking when she came up to see me in
Minnesota.

--

--

Lawson Wallace
Be Unique

64-year-old married guy, I have been writing stories for years, but never submitted or published anything. I write about my successes and failures, everything.