What Writing Has Taught Me

Because there is always a lesson in everything

Handriani Puspita
Be Unique
4 min readOct 22, 2020

--

I used to be afraid of writing about my personal experience because it can overwhelm me with feelings. But as I was struggling with stress, I started to fill my journal with some narrations, to cope with life. Since then, I love the idea of writing. However, writing something for the public is a whole new level for me. It’s a new challenge.

The Journey

My writing interest started to peak in December 2019. I figure since I love reading, maybe it will be a great opportunity to make a book review on my blog so I can share my thoughts with other people. I challenged myself to write a review for books about inspiring women that I just read that month and posted it after a 2-year break from writing.

I believe when we really want something with a good intention, the universe will help us to achieve it.

A few months after I’m writing again, I talked to someone who has a similar interest as me. He used to write a lot growing up, as a way to express himself. It was unexpected, but I guess the universe has its unique way to encourage both of us to continue writing. And I’m glad that he is willing to share his thoughts for most of my writings. One of his advice that stuck in my head:

“You need to put a bit of emotion into your writing!”

Believe it or not, it is the hardest part for me because I’m getting used to writing about facts. Like company reports, academic papers, even book reviews. It’s easier for me to write about facts because those are tangible things. But emotion? Well, I deal a lot with many forms of it every day and it’s already confusing. I feel much more convenient and safer when I just lock them inside.

I took another small step to train myself to be a better writer. This time, I wrote a review of two books that I read in September this year. It was quite special because my writing got accepted in one of Medium Publications. It felt so good to overcome my own fear and I’m proud of myself for trying!

As a way to encourage me to write more, I asked my friend to take the “30 Days Writing Challenge”, which currently booming on social media. My friend said that this will be a good way to exercise our writing skills. Whenever I don’t feel like writing, he will remind me:

“Just write, there is no right or wrong way to do it. Writing even one sentence is fine, it’s still progress”

He is right. What matters is to start doing. It’s the hardest part to start something, but once you’re in it for 30 seconds, you’ll just want to continue because you want more progress.

I’m grateful to have him as a writing partner. He always encourages me and challenges me to be a better writer!

The Lessons

There is an abundance of lessons that I’ve learned during my writing process.

I explore a lot about life — The possibility that I have, the things that I can be grateful for. Some are just simple things like having a good time with friends or eating my favorite food. I write about things that have happened to me; joy, sadness, and disappointments. Those are all part of me and I need to cherish it. It makes me who I am today.

I reflect a lot on my past — things that I did wrong and how to fix it. I can’t change the past, but I won’t let myself to do the same mistake in the future.

I try to see people from another point of view — the uniqueness of each person. I learn what makes them think the way they do, I learn what can trigger certain emotions they feel. I learned how to view the world from their perspective. It’s a beautiful way to connect with people because deep down, most of us just want to be understood.

I learn how to be vulnerable. I always thought showing my vulnerability is a bad idea, as it will make me look incompetent in handling my own feelings. But turns out, when you do it in a safe environment, it can help to bring your positive energy back.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” (Maya Angelou)

Most of all, writing taught me to be more patient in life. Although I haven’t got everything figured out yet, I’m grateful that I still got time to explore and make some progress in my life.

“There are many ways of going forward, but only one way of standing still.” (Franklin D. Roosevelt)

I will keep writing to live my best life and to help others — by sharing my experience and knowledge.

--

--

Handriani Puspita
Be Unique

Indonesian | Financial Analyst on Weekdays | Data Analytics Enthusiast | German Learner | ENFJ | Happy to share some book recommendations!