Why You’ll Never Succeed at Respecting

Ahmed Aqel
Be Unique
Published in
4 min readAug 12, 2020
Photo by Hisu lee on Unsplash

When I was 14 years old, I was the most terrible and annoying child ever. The teachers always said that I do not respect anyone of them and they always complained about me.

If you think that’s normal…no, that is not normal.

Respect has no age limit.

I had the perfect grades but that wasn’t important to my family or teachers. They always kept telling me that I must change the way I talk to them but I never liked or respected that thing because I believed that I was always right and I didn’t commit any mistake but was only living my life.

In high school, I was horrible for not respecting anyone.

The ego inside me closed my eyes towards the truth. Even if I ever hurt someone, I would just let it pass like nothing ever happened.

Some people said that it is okay to be like this in high school and that you were just a teenager so that’s okay in that period of life. I wasn’t convinced of this theory and didn’t want to create excuses for not feeling guilty before as it is my responsibility at the end and I need to respect others.

Why I felt like this was maybe because everyone left me and I did not have friends. Maybe I had like one or two of them but I didn’t have a lot of friends (I mean the friends who were close to me). The reason behind this was my ego and the actions that I did in school and in front of my family. I always thought that they were wrong and I was always right but that was a stupid lie which I kept telling myself over and over again.

In university, everything changed: the ego to the way of talking but it was not easy as you’d imagine. (I kept acting like I had 10M followers on Instagram or had a movie with John Travolta)…

I kept doing stupid things like rushing to take the decision and judging someone but in this period in my life, I was learning from these stupid mistakes. In the past, I kept repeating the same mistakes over and over again.
( Like a mouse that does not learn, to the contrary, it falls into the same hole again).

But in university, I was learning and thank God for helping me make a difference in my life and learn from past mistakes and not repeating them.

If the heart and soul are troubled to something ugly that you usually used to do, then know that you are on the right path.

With time your heart filled with hatred and ego, with years you don’t feel something wrong in your life, the hate and ego will close your eyes and heart of the right path.
Our life like a map that so many directions include. A lot of scenarios.
We need the key to this map, you will not find the key on the map like usually, on the contrary.
The key that is your actions need to change, to think perfection that you will never reach it if you do not respect the others and yourself, to build a new person and new heart to be like white paper that nobody touches it before.

But how you will have this key?

That depends on two things:

First: Find the triggers of not succeeding at respecting and try to kill those (Ego, hate, bad friends, or even bad environment that you live in).You must remove them from your life.
Search for it and change all of these things in the first step.

Second: Practice (Get F**K Start ).
The hardest thing is the start, why? Because you don’t have the resilience to accept and respect the other…Let’s start with doing plank exercise, don’t panic you will not going to die.… The power of resilience in how much you exercise in a day also how much you want to change.

That will be the hardest thing but remember (don’t panic you will not going to die ).
These obstacles will be the reason for not having the progress in your respective journey.

Start the practice of respecting even if someone bothers you or someone reason to break your heart do not let this thing transfer you to person hated the others, cause someone did not deserve to be in my life.

You will not Succeed at respecting if :

  • You will not succeed at respecting if you don’t feel guilty about the bad things that you do.
  • You will not succeed at respecting if you keep saying “I am right” or “I am a strong Man/Woman” or “This is how I talk or take the action.”
  • You will not succeed at respecting if you keep around friends who drag you to the bottom. ( The Fake Friends).
  • You will not succeed at respecting if you spread racism and if you respect only the people from your religion or your country or your skin color.
  • You will not succeed at respecting if you don’t respect yourself and if you don’t appreciate yourself by saying “I am not like the others who have more things than me”. You don’t feel satisfied because you never search for it.

“How would your life be different if…You stopped making negative judgmental assumptions about people you encounter? Let today be the day…You look for the good in everyone you meet and respect their journey.” — Steve Maraboli

--

--

Ahmed Aqel
Be Unique

Engineer, Writer, Entrepreneurship, Researcher. I try to spread useful knowledge to help people