Meet BEAM Ambassadors #8: Angus Sullivan — London, United Kingdom

Moriah Khalili
BEAM Privacy
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2019

As an integral part of our Blog, BEAM is highlighting the fantastic Ambassadors helping us, day-after-day, build a fairer future where both paradigms of privacy and financial value are protected for individuals. Let’s meet Angus Sullivan!

Who are you?

Hey all, I’m Angus, or Gus for short. I’m a pretty easy-going individual with a variety of interests and passions. The more obvious ones being cryptocurrencies and privacy, which explains how BEAM and I came to be. Much of my time is spent reading and following the progress in these sectors, which luckily seems like it will be a lifetime’s worth of keeping up. Now for the less obvious… When I’m not doing that, I spend a lot of time painting, drawing, and ‘creating,’ with the occasional flash of photography. I also like to fly planes when I get the chance. I’ve spent a lot of my adult life living away from home, and recently relocated to the U.K. from China. Despite this, I do not really consider myself a traveler, but rather like someone that has been to a few places, and will likely travel to a few more.

Why BEAM?

To answer this question, we would have to go back to early 2017 when I first came across the Mimblewimble papers. To quote Vera, I’m a fan of the “ghostly elegance of the protocol.” I like small, simple, elegant, and most of all control over the information I share. In conversation it is very easy to only disclose the information you are willing to share, whilst in the age of the internet this becomes an increasingly difficult task.

BEAM presents an opportunity to take ones sovereignty back. It’s something we all need, and I am excited that it will soon be a possibility.

What do you enjoy working on?

I studied Psychology when I was younger, so I enjoy looking into how people’s brains work and function. This fascination is exemplified in the young industry we find ourselves in. There is a lot happening with such a small subset of people that the quirks are hugely highlighted.

Lately I’ve been learning more about game theory and governance in particular. I think there will be numerous interesting cases that will crowd up in the industry, and I’m looking forward to it. For better or worse.

What do you want to see in a privacy-oriented Digital world?

I want to see only that which others have consented.

Why should someone become a BEAM Ambassador?

I think it is a great way to learn, meet like-minded individuals, and share the knowledge that you have and gain. It is a great way to contribute to a project and the industry as a whole that focuses on something extremely important to the individual: the ability to store value in a private manner.

The team at BEAM is working hard to bring something we can all benefit from. The ambassador program gives you the opportunity to contribute to that development, and share the opportunity with like-minded individuals in your community.

Inspired by Angus’ story? Want to become a BEAM Ambassador? Click here to apply.

Learn more about our project on our website

Join our developer community: Gitter

Telegram: t.me/BeamPrivacy

Reddit: reddit.com/r/beamprivacy/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/beamprivacy

Discord: discord.gg/BHZvAhg

Bitcointalk: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5052151

Forum: https://forum.beam.mw/

Newsletter: https://beamprivacy.substack.com/

--

--

Moriah Khalili
BEAM Privacy

Experienced Marketing Coordinator with a demonstrated history of diligently working in Writing and Social Media Management . Skilled in Public Speaking