NF’s “When I Grow Up” Reminds Us to Believe in Our Dreams

Song’s Best Lyrics and Pivotal Message of Optimism

Connor "Bearcat" Martin
Bearcat Ponders

--

NF in his latest music video for “When I Grow Up”: Source

In the music video and lyrics for “When I Grow Up”, the third single from NF’s upcoming album, The Search, NF (Nathan Feuerstein) explores his childhood dream of becoming a rapper. He shows it wasn’t easy for him to get where he is now.

His video starts with children answering what they want to be when they grow up. Responses range from “I want to be a dentist” to “I want to be a police officer.” A young Nathan, or Nate, tells the room:

“When I grow up, I’m gonna be a rapper.”

While the other kids said “I want to be . . .”, Nate asserted his dream. He knew he was going to be a rapper and had faith in himself from the beginning. But not everyone else did.

Scenes from “When I Grow Up”: Source

The video then jumps to NF as a garbage man as he starts to rap his meticulous lyrics. The entire song is NF’s younger perspective, so he discusses his purpose and doubt from those around him. Verse one mentions this quickly:

Yeah, when I grow up, you know what I wanna be?
Take a seat, let me…

--

--

Connor "Bearcat" Martin
Bearcat Ponders

Passionate writer | Stories involving TV/music, book reviews, quotes, faith, poetry, and more | Words for eternity | Check out my book: bit.ly/2AkskcE