Chronic Illness Recovery: Move When You Can, But Keep Strengthening Even When You Don’t Feel Like Moving

I’m 25 days into my 99-day pericarditis recovery challenge. Here’s what I’ve learned this week.

Melinda Crow
Bearing My Heart
Published in
5 min readAug 22, 2021

--

Photo by Luca Discenza on Unsplash

Okay, first the disclaimers. I am not a healthcare provider of any sort, nutritionist, physical therapist, or physical trainer. I am simply a chronic pericarditis patient on the cusp of what I hope is my second remission.

If you started here, you should definitely read the introduction first. It explains in detail where I was in my recovery when I began my 99-day journey. You can read that here.

If the last few years of fighting pericarditis, loss of vision in one eye, skin cancer, and now osteoporosis, have taught me anything, it is that there are times in life when slowing down is the only way to survive.

Ever wonder who those people are that watch pre-season NFL football on television? Me! I’m a Dallas Cowboy fan to the core, but I enjoy the strategy and athleticism of any NFL game, even those lame pre-season tryouts. There have been years of my life when I was far too busy for football, but this year all my energy is focused on healing and that means slowing down to watch a few football games.

--

--

Melinda Crow
Bearing My Heart

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/