Movie poster “Her”

Designing a Heartbeat — Part I

Tom Romkes
Beast
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

A lot of my ideas come from hunches, I love to work with instinct and get inspired along the way. The same goes for a new tendency I’d like to call ‘Designing a Heartbeat’, which is my path to creating a more meaningful Operating System (OS). The process is all about exploring (sometimes unrevealed) possibilities.

In the near future, with all the big steps made in Artificial Intelligence and Machine learning, I think there is a place for a living and more meaningful OS. The movie “Her” was a big inspiration. But in my future world there should be a healthier human/machine relationship.

Digital experiences should be created to improve the life of the end-user. This means a more perceivable experience and not a longer digital experience. If all the digital services become smarter and better this hopefully means they get more hidden in the future.

Nowadays we are creating applications and other software to keep the attention level of the end-user extremely high. We are including habits, FOMO (fear of missing out) rules, infinite timeline scrolls, and many more rules in the interfaces. Although these measures may seem very profitable for businesses, are they providing the best user-experience? I Don’t think so.

The user group as a whole is getting smarter and better informed about all the different ways businesses can take advantage of their every day app usage. There will be resistance from the end users over time. Staring at a screen will not satisfy people’s experiences.

With this in mind, my hunt for a more meaningful OS has started. It’s a journey of trial and error. I will occasionally check-in to share the progress with you.

--

--