Tears: a great fuel

Lionel Nkaya
Beatitudes
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2014

Have you ever been awaken in the middle of the night for no reason ? Too tired to wake up, too awake to fall asleep. A sound mind trapped in a lethargic body or even worse a lethargic mind crippling a sound body.

How do we get up when we have been going down for hours, days months and even years ?

I would like to suggest that crying your eyes out is a good first solution. As Judit Orloff MD suggests it in her article “ The Health Benefits of Tears” reflex tears, the ones your body produces as a reflex to protect your eyes and clear out noxious particles are made of 98 % water, whereas emotional tears also contain stress hormones which get excreted from your body through crying.

So you go and cry boy !

“black haired boy crying” by Kat J on Unsplash

First step is done. Have you emptied the pipette, the bottles, the buckets, the oceans of stress hormones you had in store ? Good ! Your eyes are red ? Very good ! King David a man of great courage wrote these profound words :

“I am weary with my moaning;
every night I flood my bed with tears;
I drench my couch with my weeping.
My eye wastes away because of grief;
it grows weak because of all my foes.”

Now how do we invert gravity ? Let me suggest that the only thing that can stop our falling is the application of a stronger force in the opposite direction…..No wonder why in the Bible, God describes himself as Elohim “the Strong One” !

--

--