UNITED

Lionel Nkaya
Beatitudes
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2017
“Statue of Liberty, New York under blue sky” by Ximena Torres Rodríguez on Unsplash

Here is a a beautiful work from Emmely Aldave a talented filmmaker and a personal friends. Her movies are short but full of interesting stories. In UNITED she tells the story of her current home the United States of America.

She ends UNITED with a beautiful quote from Emma Lazarus’s poem the New Colossus. If you ask me, I think America has never been greater than when they carved these words at the feet of the Statue of Liberty, and it is going backward to think that greatness for America can be achieved by being unfaithful to the nation’s foundational principles:

“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Reading this quote I can not help but make a parallel between the promises the United States gave to the world and this promise God gave us through Christ:

Then Jesus declared,
“I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.
But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe.”
Gospel of John chapter 6 verse 35 to 37

“… whoever comes to me I will never drive away”, Jesus’s emigration policy is very clear.

Like every aspiring emigrant, will you have the courage to leave what you know, pack a few belongings that you better not mind loosing and get on the journey ?

If you take that journey you won’t be welcomed by a statue that promises you liberty. You will be welcomed by the King of the land in person with open harms and telling you: “I love you this much, I am glad you decided to come”.

By God’s grace I have been making this journey, I have not arrived yet but I am confident that God’s kingdom emigration policies do not change every four to eight years. Now you might be asking how do we get to this country that never drives away any emigrant ? The beautiful thing is that when you make the free-will decision that you want to get to that country, the King of the Land comes to you, holds your hand and takes you there.

BONUS : UNITED by Emmely Aldave

--

--