Why I Don’t Count My Sobriety Time

I use a different measure to judge the success of my sobriety

Doran Lamb
Beautiful Hangover

--

couple sharing pizza on a picnic blanket
I remember when I couldn’t eat Italian without drinking. Photo by Maksim Goncharenok from Pexels

Popularized by AA through collecting tokens, most people who get sober count their days and their time. And I get why it’s popular as a motivational tool. I’ve made it to 6 months, I’m nearly at a year, I can do this.

Counting time also makes sense. Research says, the longer you are sober for the less likely you are to relapse. Counting time can therefore make you feel secure and confident in your sobriety.

I know all of this but still stopped counting time. I only realized when I was asked how long I had been sober and didn't know.

I know approximately how long I’ve been sober. Mainly because as I went into rehab to get sober, I only have to search for my admission date.

I’m not knocking it if counting time is your thing and I know it works for many people, particularly in the first year of sobriety. I collected tokens in my first year and it absolutely helped me, but as time has gone on I’ve realized that counting time just doesn't sit well with me. Here’s why:

It strokes the ego

The ego has no place in sobriety. However, counting time for some people allows them to feel superior and tell newbies in recovery how to…

--

--

Doran Lamb
Beautiful Hangover

Top Writer in Mental Health + Psychology + Love. Acute observer of the stigma surrounding mental health and addiction. https://doranlamb.medium.com/membership