Why You Should Never Stop Drinking Forever

Life is much more manageable when you live it a day at a time.

Chelsey Flood
Beautiful Hangover
Published in
5 min readNov 19, 2019

--

When I first quit drinking, I had no intention of stopping for good. I wanted to have a break, to sort a few things out in my life, and start afresh. Nothing especially untoward had happened, but I knew that soon it would if I didn’t do better.

I wanted to get my writing back on track, to feel better in my relationship, to look less puffy and dehydrated.

And so, for the first time in my life, I decided to do something about it beyond swearing off. I took myself along to a support meeting someone had recommended, and I sat in the circle and listened.

It was a women’s meeting, and I was surprised to see lots of young, professional women, sitting in the circle. They hugged each other and stood together in twos and threes, chatting.

“Just keep it in the day,” they said to me when I admitted I didn’t really know what I was doing there.

--

--