A Human’s Purpose for Humans

Jelani Olufemi
Beauty in the Struggle
2 min readSep 8, 2017

In this courses reading, I found the overarching theme in Lorena’s story to be the giving of knowledge after receiving it. “Part of my job was to educate people.” (Sabrina Needs Her Identity Back, pg. 192). I think this speaks to a human’s ability to give someone else knowledge, and how powerful that is. I’m sure I have my own personal experiences that could teach someone else how life works, and I know other people’s live could do the same for me. In that regard, we sort of share an experience of the world. Like many, Lorena is using college as a tool to expand her knowledge of what’s happening in the world and how she can make an impact by telling others about things that should be allowed and should not be. She speaks up and does work, bringing a sense of knowledge and purpose, her own purpose for another human.

Of course, Lorena’s story speaks to bigger problems in the world. “… She was reminded that this dream was beyond reach for many other undocumented immigrants” (pg. 80, when we fight we win.) How Immigrants are still not treated as citizens. Because of arbitrary rules set by the government, people are not allowed to be productive which creates an economy where nothing flourishes. Many people have told their story and even spoke out, let themselves be known. They spread the message far and wide so that in can be heard. The used whatever resources the could to get to college and get jobs, so that their platform could be bigger. They demonstrated tenacity, not being put down.

As a person of color, I am a bit conflicted. I feel some of these struggles, but I don’t have the character of a person that speaks up directly, but that has changed upon reading these stories. Lorena and the many people who spoke out for the rights of undocumented immigration had purpose when they spoke, and that in turns give me a sense of purpose. That it does not matter how I might see myself or how meek I may be about standing up for what's right. It is truly inspiring. It gives me a sense that maybe I can use this knowledge to bolster not only myself, but also my community partner, and my family, and my friends, and even the whole world. These movements have faces and names, each with their own individual purpose. As people with purpose, I feel as though we must help each other with each others purpose, as it truly bolsters our own.

--

--