A Zipcode Does Not Define Your Education

Taylin Ashley-White
Beauty in the Struggle
2 min readOct 12, 2017

“Shared a vision and a history of using participatory education as a crucible for empowerment of the poor and powerless.” (xv)

“Both regions were dependent upon powerful economic interests, initially the plantation owners and late the multinationals, and were characterized by sharp dichotomies between rich and poor, powerful and powerless. (xvii)

“Was that he was tired of North American audiences telling him that his ideas were only applicable to Third World conditions.” (xvi)

What?
Freire explains the relationship between practice, theory, and knowledge by showing that “they also shared similarities of life history and of involvement in social movements that helped to shape their vision and their practice.” (xvii) The author shows that the two men had to experience life in order to be involved with social movements that lead to their vision to be shared. This semester I feel like I practice informing my learning and knowledge by being in a colloquium class that challenges me to think freely and for myself. In my class: Thinking for a change, I really feel that I am able to speak my mind and hear other people speak theirs. A few days ago one of my friends was making an assumption about someone because they weren’t going to college. Before my colloquium class I would have done the same thing, but from a reading that I read for this class enabled me to explain to them that school isn’t for everyone and there are different skills one can obtain from different jobs that can not be taught in school.

So What?
Myles Horton took action on neutrality by making a school, Highlander Folk School. “Started their programs with rural workers, who were being displaced from the land driven into the textile mills, mines, and factories as part of the ‘development’ of the rural South.” (xvii) Myles and Freire both wanted to make a change in the education of other people. In doing so this affects our lives and the larger democratic process by showing followers that they can make a change. From my personal experience remaining neutral to the structural inequalities that impact the people at my community partner shows that I do not judge them because of where they come from, which is in my opinion very important.

Now What?
My community experience is informing my education and career goals because it has definitely made me think in a different and people and enjoy giving my time to help others. From AVID I have learned how to build connections with high school kids and motivate them to not give up. My colloquium class has enhanced my way of viewing people, before this class I was quick to judge without understanding a person.

--

--