Education In The “Free” World

Nhan Pham
Beauty in the Struggle
4 min readOct 24, 2017

I want to acknowledge Erica, manager of UP (Canal), for answering the questions. Though I did not ask her the questions as an interview, I asked it in an informal approach; she probably did notice I asked her the questions. UP is working to help the students to “fit in” the social structure norm. Even though I disagree with that approach but that is the best way an organization can do right now. I notice UP always have foods/dinner for the students; I know a lot of the students do not have enough food at home. It is critical UP is offering meals and education to the students.

Hannah-Jones is facing the struggle of what school she can choose for her daughter. She did not want to send her daughter to a privilege/wealthy school because she did not want to be like any other parents, she wants to change the segregation in the school system: “Integration was transformative for my husband and me. Yet the idea of placing our daughter in one of the small number of integrated schools troubled me. These schools are disproportionately white and serve the middle and upper middle classes, with a smattering of poor black and Latino students to create ‘diversity.’” I have a mix feeling with her approach because I will want the best for my child: best school, best education, best neighborhood…However, I also agree with her we need to change the education segregation structure in America. The students at UP are not worth any less than a student at a rich school; my students at UP can think critically at such a young age. For example, one day we were talking about human rights, and we happened to stumble on the gay right. She told me “I don’t understand why society shame gay people, they are human too” she also told me that her cousin used the bible to justify his problem with gay. However, she did not believe and explain to him that it is not right to think like that because the text does not represent moral…and don’t pick and choose what you want to follow in the bible. I feel ashamed to think that my students can think like critically such as a young age… every time I spend at UP, I learned how not to stereotype a group of people.

It is hard for Hannah to choose a good school for her daughter if she believes that other children do not deserve the same education as her daughter. So she decided to look at other schools and statistic about how students of color segregated in the education system: “In 2014, the Civil Rights Project at the University of California, Los Angeles, released a report showing that New York City public schools are among the most segregated in the country. Black and Latino children here have become increasingly isolated, with 85 percent of black students and 75 percent of Latino students attending “intensely” segregated schools — schools that are less than 10 percent white.” I know it not only happen in New York but closer to home, Marin County, Sonoma County. I went to a public high school where there are 10% of students are white, so I did not think it is a way of segregation. However, the knowledge in this class gives me the confidence to ask myself that question “Was I segregated in my high school?” I still don’t know if I segregated or not but I know one thing the teachers, staffs at my high school willing to work extra hours because they want to inspire students to go to college.

Just society is where everyone get equality? No, I don’t think that how is work, just society is where everyone gets a chance to shine. Just society is not where everyone gets the same chance, it where some people get different chance according to their experiences, capability… “We need more art, more music, more gym. Stop the testing. Schools are not businesses…” I believe that education needs to be more diverse, not just about racial, but everything. For example, a school needs to be for everyone: poor, rich, white, Asian, black, latino, students with disabilities, school topics. Every day in my life, I notice that society only value math and science. What about other topics, studies? I love the art of dance, the history of dance, the psychology of dance… but I found that our education system is ashamed of my passion because it will not make “money” or “what are you going to do with that after college.” Even the students at UP, one student shared with me that she loves drawing, but she also hates it because “what am I going to do with that?” It hurt me so much to think that the system is ruing in another student creativity because “What are you going to do with that?” Without art, history, dance… then there are no other subjects.

I think Hannah-Jones raised a big question of race in the public education: “The New York City public-school system is 41 percent Latino, 27 percent black and 16 percent Asian. Three-quarters of all students are low-income.” Is public school for the poor and students of color only? Why? She included data, facts, analysis because she wants people to believe her point, and just not think that she is an angry black woman. Also, I think of her doing that, people will think more about the problem that we have in America education- segregation.

--

--