Our Purpose in Education ~ Jelani Olufemi

Jelani Olufemi
Beauty in the Struggle
3 min readAug 31, 2017

Do you ever feel lost, like you know what you are doing but don’t know why. I have found these feelings in myself in relation to college, but the classes I take, and the knowledge that I absorb help me form my reason.

Passages I’ve been reading, A Talk to Teachers and Mission High, have expanded my thoughts on issues of what I should focus on, and overall, what my education is. As I read, I found myself agreeing with the point on education being for expanding a persons awareness of themselves and their surroundings. There is something to be learned about formal education, and that is that it can teach us to eventually not accept the status quo when we learn of its untruth. As a person who grew up being home schooled, I had the wonderful opportunity to learn my own culture and history before ever having to accept someone else's just for the sake of a test, which is why I think that somehow, everyone who goes through schooling, be it public or private, or any other form, should take time explore their own history and culture first, as it gives perspective that allows for more productivity in contemporary times like these.

People should not go through their lives believing that their people contributed nothing to the formation of this country, because it is not true. All cultures have contributed to the formation of our modern world, and this fact deserves to be explored by every respective culture. In my own personal experience, It has always made me curious and sad when I see someone who has not embraced the accomplishments of their own culture, as I feel they have not unlocked their full potential.

Education is tied to the ones who teach it, and the ones who administer it. We all make the choice to stay silent and accept the teaching, when books are written, only to be taught by teachers who only teach out of them and don’t offer real experience and actual truths, down to when we as students simply absorb the information, without at the very least, knowing our own truths. I think this ties into the idea of education being so important, as it can make us engage in ways that can transcend teachers, or all people, who do not fully believe in our level of achievement.

It is important that we use our educations and our voices to be heard. Jesmyn Said that “Trayvon doesn’t have a voice anymore”, and “I am going to speak for him now” demonstrating the importance of voice and knowledge. We won’t always have our voice, and we need to speak up for those who can’t.

I think Jesmyn, or anyone in her situation, would feel that as a person with awareness of what is going on around them and of what their society is like, would feel the need to speak out all the time when this happens, not just when a case comes to light. we need to focus on these issues and analyze them as educated people in order to change them and stop history from repeating itself. I learned that my purpose while I’m in school and while I’m on this planet is to become a person that challenges things that are wrong, to use my giftedness and speak up, and I think that is a lesson that everyone can learn, as Baldwin said “It is your responsibility to change society if you think of yourself as an educated person.” . Everyone in the world should discuss the things that seem wrong and challenge them. If we do that, then we might be able to build a better society.

--

--