Before You Buy the New Too Faced Highlighter Read This Review

Faith Sellers
Beauty Trends
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2017

Too Faced Love Light Prismatic Highlighter

Too Faced did it again and sucked me in with their cute packaging. Seriously, the heart case makeup is freakin’ adorable. I normally resist my urge to splurge on makeup. I have lots of Too Faced products and I rarely have complaints about them.

With Instagram now, I see all the all the cute pictures and it makes it hard sometimes not to buy into the hype. I like this brand but I’m not a “huge” fan. I think there are better quality products out there, to be honest, and for a lot cheaper. But I decided to give this highlighter a chance and bought it.

I went shopping the other day and decided to watch these. I really loved the gold one called “You Light Up My LIfe”. In my own opinion, that version is the best and most pigmented, but the color didn’t look great on my face.

I was really happy with the swatches when I was at the store. It was almost blinding! I ended up buying two of them so I could try them out for the blog. I got You Light Up My Life and Blinded By The Light. Cute names.

So when I got home i tried out the gold one first. I tried two different kinds of brushes to see if it would give a different effect but the product just wouldn’t pick up. I was getting frustrated because I had to pack it on, build it up and repeat. It’s a very subtle highlighter. It would be lovely for a daytime look or someone who wants just a hint of highlighter. A great product for a beginner! But I wasn’t feeling it.

By the time I had tried the Blinded By The Light, I was kind of pissed off. I could not see a thing, maybe a sheer hint of color at most.

So my overall opinion? I don’t like these at all. They were $30 each and I just don’t think they are worth the price. I decided to return both products. In the end, my opinion came down to this:

I wasn’t happy with the color payoff at all. I shouldn’t have to work hard to see even a hint of color. Ok, I get that they are meant to build up. Personally, though, I don’t like building up a lot of product on myself…not for $30 each. I have Colourpop highlighters that cost like $8 that beat this Too Faced highlighter any day.

--

--

Faith Sellers
Beauty Trends

Hi, I’m Faith. Model turned marketing amateur, writer, and content creator. I founded PureBrunette. Check it out! purebrunette.com