An actual UX Research Job

Mayra Resende
beboteh
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2022

On March 2021 I began to work at Contraktor Technologies, a brazilian startup in the Digital Document Management market.

There, my first challenge was to discover their user persona, since their product was used by a wide range of people, from different markets, fields, places, ages and interests. They were trying to figure that out for some months, but other priorities came and the project was discontinued.

Since I started the job, I reviewed everything that was already found out, both by marketing and product teams. After that I talked with both founders of the company, to understand who were the public they were expecting to reach. Than I talked with at least one person of each team of the company, to understand the profile of clients and users they were used to talk and engage with. After that, I went to the client database and created a table with all their names, occupation area, company name, linkedin profile and some observations.

With this data I was able to figure out some demographic knowledge, as the main gender that used the platform, where most of them lived and which market verticals and occupations were more common.

After that I went to some of their private linkedin profile, to understand their personal interests. I created a list of those interests, from people they admired to brands they were used to follow. After that I categorized them and found out the most common ones, that were used to compose the personas.

During the personas composition I unified my foundings with those made previously by other members of Contraktor’s team and then I reached this result (link available only in portuguese).

Crossing the Chasm Graphic

But I was not satisfied with only providing the user personas, so I delivered their customer journey map altogether and, to extrapolate this tool, I mixed it with the Crossing the Chasm graphic, to create the undestanding that those personas were ideal types that could be placed in different phases of the journey of transitioning from the physical to the digital world when it refers to document management.

I’ve finished this entire journey alone, with help only to place all these information in only one presentation, in two months and I had to present it with details to the entire company in only sixty minutes.

It was great to see that my effort was useful for both IT, Marketing, Sales, CS and Product teams and it was the perfect start to the UX Research carreer.

--

--