Building Academic Repertory

Mayra Resende
beboteh
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2021

While in Post-Grad I began to send abstracts and paper proposals to conferences so I could write and present material related to my research.

My first opportunity was given by the National Seminar of Sociology and Politics of 2016, where I presented an essay about affirmative action of muslim people and its online unfolding.

The idea was to show that instead of a recluse group that hides their identity from everyone else, muslim people of non major muslim countries were using internet and massive media to get more and more known by the public. That was the case of some Brazilian digital influencers and bloggers and the big movement called “Hijab Day”. This essay can be found here.

Me presenting the previous essay.

After this first one, I presented some works at different academic events in Brazil and in Argentina. My focus always were the muslim world and it’s relation with the internet.

In one of the articles, presented to the Mercosul Reunion of Anthropology in 2017, I discussed how facebook groups got obsolete to my field research after whatsapp arose in Brazil. That affected my ethnographic field and I had to reinsert myself by the official social network of the community, which meant that I couldn’t reach out to people directly, because most of them didn’t use Facebook to communicate anymore. This essay can be found here.

Me presenting the essay of the next paragraph.

After I realized that I began to analyse the uses made by the directors of the muslim community I was interestected of their facebook official fanpage and also their youtube channel and, most lately, their instagram stories. At this time I realized that there were some differences between the uses made on the official profiles and those made by the community religion leader. That meant that there were two different personas in action at the social network of the same community. All this discussion took part in another essay, presented to the Brazilian Reunion of Anthropology in 2018. This essay can be found here.

--

--