The Top 10 Songs of 2016

Julian McKenzie
4 min readJan 1, 2017

--

2016 was fun, guys! Or maybe it wasn’t for you. In that case, I’m really sorry.

But I know that 2017 will be well worth it. Why, you ask? This is why:

I usually write something sappy about the past year, but I decided to take the drunken advice of one of my oldest and dearest friends.

This dear friend, Justin, and I, literally became friends off the adventures of an elementary school principal hypnotized to become a superhero in nothing but a pair of underwear and a red cape — and later gains superpowers by drinking Extra Strength Super Power Juice. Just like the two boys responsible for hypnotizing him, George and Harold, Justin and I created our own comic book company and our own characters (we tried to make our own Captain Underpants…Jr. Captain Underpants Jr).

We made stories and sold them to friends and family. Other friends wanted to make their own comic book adventures and we had them under our company’s umbrella. Next thing we knew, we were renting out a room for a staff party at Pizza Hut.

We’ve since grown up in age, but we were both excited when the news of a Captain Underpants film was in the works. I don’t know where I will be in on June 2nd, 2017, but I will find a way to watch this movie — even if I have to go to a movie theatre alone. It’s happened before. If I can watch it with Justin, all the better. But with all the expectations and projects I’ve heaped upon myself in the new year, I know I cannot leave Captain Underpants out of the fold.

Wouldn’t it be cool, almost prophetic considering Justin’s message above, if kids watched this film and were inspired to create their own set of comics or just to create in general? Probably because hypnotizing their own principal would be way harder to accomplish.

It’s definitely helped Justin and I.

God bless Dav Pilkey.

Thank you to everyone who made 2016 as great as it was. Thank you to my family and friends back home in Montreal for supporting me. I miss being around the city on a regular basis. Thank you to all of my new friends in the United States. The next step of my journey was huge and you’ve done nothing but made me feel welcome, while also pushing me to be at my best. See you in 2017.

Alright, here’s what you came for.

10. “Yesterday” by Noname

9. “No Heart” by 21 Savage & Metro Boomin

8. Am I Wrong (ft. Schoolboy Q) by Anderson .Paak

7. I Need A Forest Fire (ft. Bon Iver) by James Blake

6. “Redbone” by Childish Gambino

5. “Nikes” by Frank Ocean

4. “The Donald” by A Tribe Called Quest

3. “I Feel It Coming” by The Weeknd

2. “Cranes in the Sky” by Solange

1. “pick up the phone (ft. Quavo) ” by Travis Scott and Young Thug

--

--

Julian McKenzie

Canadian journalist, podcast host, broadcaster, Content creator in a new media world.