Professional Interview

elizabeth.johnson6
Becoming a Blogger
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2016

For my professional interview, I asked Tajshmon Brooks, producer of Love in the Macon about his experiences in the TV industry.

Question 1: How did you come up with the concept for Love in the Macon?

“While interning with ULL Global Magazine, they asked me to come up with a creative project. The business gave me free range of putting together what I wanted. I wanted to do something that I never heard Macon have, so I came up with a reality show. I have been filming my friends for years, and have always caught interesting footage for my own personal entertainment. So I say why not create a reality show.

Question 2: How did you decide who would be on your show?

“Coming up with the cast was something that came naturally. I started off by interviewing people that went to the college I attend. Then by word of mouth, individuals were contacting me asking could he or she be a part of the show. I started off with 2 cast members and then I had to make sure that the rest of the cast members I hired knew each other or at least were friends with one of the people on the show. Doing this I was hoping that it could cause a train of events to occur, and it did. I also made sure that the cast members I hired had things going on in their lives career wise.”

Question 3: How did you create the structure for your show?

“I do not feel that my show has much structure, because life does not have structure. If you are looking for genuine reality, then there is no place for structure.”

Question 4: What was the inspiration for the show?

“My main inspiration for the show was Macon. So many people have this negative persona of Macon, which I wanted to change. I wanted them to see people in Macon trying to do something with their lives, even when they have personal problems to face on the regular.”

Question 5: What program(s) do you use to edit your show?

“I use the same programs that other show or movie makers use. But I have a unique techniques to make my show different.”

Question 6: What have you found is the best viewing platform for your show?

“Although I use Youtube to host my show, I feel like the best viewing platform is my website www.loveinthemacon.com. This platform allows the viewer full access to be active, leave comments, learn more about the cast outside the show, and engages them on upcoming events and allow them to meet the cast and come film with us.”

Question 7: How do you increase viewership?

“Social media and word of mouth are our top two ways of getting subscribers and people to view the show. At first the show was just getting subscribers and people to view the show. At first the show was just getting its buzz off of word of mouth, however there came a time at the beginning were we needed to expand our brand so we created platforms like: www.instagram.com/loveinthemacon; www.twitter.com/loveinthemacon; www.facebook.com/loveinthemacon.”

Question 8: What efforts/lengths do you go to as far as advertising for the show and yourself?

“I advertise every single day tagging different celebrities and social lights, hoping that the show will fall into the right hands. So far it has grabbed the attention of Missy Eliot, Big Tigger, Pre Madonna, Big Sean, and many others.”

Question 9: Who/what inspired you to become a producer/director?

“I never thought in a million years that I would want to produce. However, I inspired myself to do it. I have always been a person in front of the camera; acting, singing, raping, and doing shows with different stars. This time I wanted to do something different, go behind the camera. “

Question 10: If you could direct anyone in a film of your choosing who would it be?

“I have not directed yet, so that would be an honor all alone. In my reality show, I’m just the man behind the camera watching the lives of others. I piece everyone’s scenes together to create a show. I don’t tell them what to do or how to do it, so the next project I work on I think will be a short film. I would want to direct myself.”

--

--