A Long Break Followed By a Monstrous Waterfall

Jesse Sumrak
Becoming a Developer
2 min readJan 4, 2019

Over the Christmas break, I didn’t do a whole lot of studying (shame on me!). I briefly learned the basics of pickling and shelving, and then the lessons quickly moved on to modules and functions, which is what I’ve been doing this week. Messed around with the turtle module 🐢 for a bit, and now looking at some other modules.

Earlier this week, my good friend/mentor from Google came over to help me with any questions and to propose a fun project idea. Well, I couldn’t say no, especially when this is such a great opportunity to learn from an awesome developer, so we dove straight in. He had to spend a lot of time explaining the basics to me, and I was drowning in all the information. We went from Python functions and classes to the Google Cloud Platform and understanding all its capabilities and what apps we’d be using for our website/app project. After the waterfall, we went into the App Engine and started getting that configured on my computer…what happened next, I’m not quite sure.

This guy is a wizard 🧙‍♂️with the terminal, and I can hardly keep up with all the commands he’s executing in there. So…this is the gist of what I got, and if this is accurate or not, I have no idea. We installed gcp through the terminal and all the other associated files. We installed Flask and then Sourctree (work computer wasn’t letting me download Git for some reason). We then created the relevant .py files and what not and activated the Virtual Environment while editing files in Python. So…now I’m able to edit code and deploy to a local port and then also deploy it to gcp so it appears on the browser, too. Geeze, it’s a lot going on, but I’m just trying to absorb as much as I can now.

After all that, I started working through Flask’s documentation and Tutorial to see if I could understand the framework better (and even what a framework does). It’s been a lot of information and kinda discouraging at times, but I’m sticking with it and grinding through my ignorance to try and salvage whatever I can. I KNOW for a fact I’ll look back at this post one day and laugh myself to tears for how little I knew, but it is what it is 🤣

--

--

Jesse Sumrak
Becoming a Developer

Jesse Sumrak is a writing zealot focused on creating killer content. He’s spent almost a decade writing about startup, marketing, and entrepreneurship topics.