Python Gave Me Its First Bite šŸ¤•

Jesse Sumrak
Becoming a Developer
2 min readNov 30, 2018

This week has been ALL Python (with a few hours committed to my QA ISTQB course). After if/elif/else statements, I moved on to for/while loops. At first, the for loops were kicking my butt. I just wasnā€™t getting how it worked through the whole loop and all the associated code, then it restarted and went through until it completed the range. Fast forward a few daysā€¦and I think I get itā€¦mostly. Itā€™s helped to work through a couple projects and challenges through my Udemy course. And Iā€™m starting to get the hang of the while loops, too. It helped to implement them into my bear game because it then allowed the user multiple guesses whereas before if they typed in the wrong answer they only got one more chance before losing.

This morning, though, I just got super discouraged. I was up at 5am and trying to solve a challenge, and (1) I had no idea what they were even asking me to do (2), had no idea what to even try, and (3) the walkthrough answer didnā€™t really make much sense to me. So I was pretty bummed and hating on myselfā€¦but later today, the problems that were killing me this morning started to make sense. Iā€™m guessing my mind isnā€™t as quick and alert in the morning. I need to do some sort of wake up exercises or something to get my mind creatively thinking. Regardless, this stuff is hard, but Iā€™m going to be persistent and stick with it. I got this!

--

--

Jesse Sumrak
Becoming a Developer

Jesse Sumrak is a writing zealot focused on creating killer content. Heā€™s spent almost a decade writing about startup, marketing, and entrepreneurship topics.