Transcribed interview with Senior Business Analyst Amy Burgundy

Jaquisha Merritt
Becoming an Entertainment Journalist
2 min readApr 25, 2016
Amy Burgundy (left) and Jaquisha Merritt (right).

This is a transcribed interview with my mentor, Amy Burgundy. I have known Amy since my sophomore year of high school and she has always been there for me. She was once a Cox Communications employee and a mentor under their mentoring program with Chamblee Charter High School. Enough about us, let’s learn more about Amy.

Interviewer: Jaquisha Merritt

Respondent: Amy Burgundy

J: Hi Amy. How are you?

A: Good Jaquisha. How are you?

J: Good. Thank you for taking the time out to do this interview. I have a few questions for you.

J: What is your name?

A: Amy Burgundy.

J: Where are you from?

A: Mableton, GA

J: What college did you attend, what was your major, and how did choose it?

A: Cargenie Mellon University undergraduate and Robert Morris University graduate. BA in Professional Writing and History and MS in Communications and Information Systems. I initially majored in computer science only to discover that I enjoyed writing about how to use software programs instead of writing codes.

J: How did you get started in the field that you are in? What lesson did you learn from your first job?

A: I started out in an entry position to gain experience by networking in Communications. My boss taught me that if I presented a problem that I needed to find at least one potential solution.

J: What influences you the most? Favorite quote that motivates you.

A: My family influences me. My favorite quote would be, “Make a difference in everything that you do.”

J: What inspires you the most about your current job position?

A: I currently work at CDC as a Senior Business Analyst and I love the challenge of writing documentation that makes it easier for my clients to do their jobs.

J: Last question, what advice would you give graduates about working in the real world?

A: Connect with a mentor where you work and always be willing to learn new things.

J: Thank you so much for your time Amy.

A: You’re welcome.

End of interview.

--

--