Self-Discipline

Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu
Become Better
Published in
9 min readFeb 4, 2024

--

Photo by Salomon Cappadocia Ultra-Trail

Race and Preparations

Click here to read without getting hit by the paywall.

October 19, 2019… Cappadocia Ultra Trail race…

I ran 63.4 km, and it took me 10 hours and 9 minutes.

Of course, before this, I went through a challenging training period. I was already running in my daily life and going to the gym, but to prepare for this race, I started following a program about 5 months prior, running three days a week and doing sports for three days.

On Mondays, I used to hit the gym for strength training. On Tuesdays, I would run with my wonderful running crew, Runarchy Running Club, covering 6–10 km. Wednesdays were reserved for light weights and high-repetition powerlifting movements for endurance at the gym. Thursdays were dedicated to “HIIT” or, as it’s also known, “interval” training. Fridays were back to the gym, focusing on lighter exercises. Saturdays meant waking up at 4:30 AM for a 25–40 km run in the forest. And finally, Sundays were designated for rest…

Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

Five months, it sounds like a breeze… Sustaining such intensity throughout that period was indeed challenging, but I managed to finish, and the…

--

--

Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu
Become Better

8+ years experienced Android Dev. Colorful, confident personality, a fan of science fiction and fantasy works. An Ultratrail runner who runs in races 60+ kms