I Appoligize!

Büşra Ergül
Become Better
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2024
Photo by Lillian Brown on Unsplash

Hello,
Woman with cracked hands and feet, dirty nails, and sun-dried face from working in the fields

Hello,
A woman who takes care of her disabled child every day, carries him in her arms, and drowns in the cigarette smoke she smokes because of this problem.

Hello,
The woman who takes care of the elderly person who forgets herself and her loved, follows his medications and takes care of everything.

Hello,
A woman who feels the pain of someone she loves more than herself, such as a child, spouse, mother, or father, in her heart.

Hello,
A woman who cannot get the job she wants because of the headscarf and is excluded by others

Hello,
A woman who hears unpleasant words just because she dresses revealingly

Hello,
A woman who is scolded and shamed because of her appearance

Hello,
A woman with her shoulders slumped in the dusk, her heart pounding with fear on the cold stones of the pavement, and having to take quick steps.

Hello,
A woman who has to work under undesirable conditions just to earn a living

Hello,
The woman who covers the bruises on her eyes because of her husband, who stays at home because she has nowhere to go, who cannot leave

Hello,
The woman who looks for the love she can’t see in other people, who do not receive the love of their mother or father and feel the lack of this in their heart

Hello,
The woman who left them and divorced them to be free, who to live the life she wants to spite her parents and husband

Hello,
A woman who is separated from her homeland and loved ones, feels the pain of this in her heart, and is caught in the middle of a cultural conflict, who is looked upon with envy by the majority; who leaves the country of his birth and lives abroad in order to work in a better job and lead a better life

Hello,
A woman who cannot breastfeed her baby due to illness or sadness.

Hello,
Tired woman with messy hair and sleepless eyes because she takes care of her baby 24/7

Hello,
A woman who is subjected to an uncomfortable distance from her relatives, neighbours and others and is forced to remain silent for this reason

Hello,
A woman who marries someone she doesn’t want and doesn’t love just because her family wants her to

Hello,
A woman who was married at a young age and was not educated because of the thought of what even if educates, wouldn’t be esteemed person

Hello,
A woman who had to choose the profession her family wanted in order not to upset her family.

Hello,
A woman who struggles with her well-groomed hair, nails and jacket in order to work in a workplace occupied by men and to reach high positions

Hello,
A woman who cannot dress the way she wants, go where she wants, talk to the people she wants, or act the way she wants, because of what everyone else will say

Forgive me if I didn’t mention you!
Hello to you too!
Who knows there are many more women that I haven’t mentioned.

If I say women, my ‘hello’ also applies to young girls.

Talking about you
I didn’t hurt you
I didn’t break your heart
I hope…

If I hurt you
If I broke your heart
I appoligize!

I see you, I know you.
I cannot go beyond seeing and knowing.
I appoligize!

I can’t experience the emotions you feel.
I appoligize!

I can not help you.
I can’t do anything for you.
I appoligize!

Accept my apologies!
I can only write!
I appoligize!

To able to experience your femininity to the fullest, not only on March 8 International Women’s Day, but in every moment,
Being able to do what you want to do,
I hope you can realize the beauties of life and move forward…

Goodbye…

Originally, published in Turkish specially for March 8 International Women’s Day.

--

--

Büşra Ergül
Become Better

Kendi sesimi duyurmak ve seninle sohbet etmek için buradayım. Anneliğimi, kendi duygularımı, hayat hakkındaki düşüncelerimi, iç çatışmamı seninle paylaşıyorum.