Push Notification in Vue.js, Quasar

Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu
Become Better
Published in
6 min readMay 3, 2024

--

Click here to read the article if you’re not Medium Partner.

After my first article, which you can access via this link, I have been working with Quasar and Vue.js for a few weeks. At Lebib Yalkın Publishing, we are in the process of renewing the mobile application, which used to be written with Flutter, using Quasar and Vue.js technologies. As an Android Developer of years, the first thing I was asked to do was, of course, mobile push notification integration.

Using Vue.js, looking at the push notification details of Flutter & Dart code and rewriting it from scratch… This challenging journey that I entered without knowing any Vue.js or Flutter was one of the best challenges for someone like me who loves challenges. Welcome to my article where you will read how I failed in this process and wasted a ridiculous amount of time, and then how I realized that I was missing something in the documentation.

Photo by Christopher Gower on Unsplash

As you know, the process of integrating push notifications into mobile applications consists of several steps:

  • Obtaining the device’s operating system unique number (device identifier) and device information and transmitting it to the server in order to send device-specific notifications,
  • Creating a project in FCM for iOS, Android or web if using Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM)

--

--

Alparslan Selçuk Develioğlu
Become Better

8+ years experienced Android Dev. Colorful, confident personality, a fan of science fiction and fantasy works. An Ultratrail runner who runs in races 60+ kms