Your Dream Come True

Büşra Ergül
Become Better
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2024

The famous neurologist and biologist Sinan Canan says:
“Write your dream on paper or draw a picture of your dream. Your dream come true.”
Of course, just looking at this statement, something very absurd is being said.
What, just drawing without working is enough to realize our dream? Or is just working enough for that?

So what should we understand from this saying?

What do you want to do? Travel the world or the country? Change your profession? Open a cafe? Become a writer?

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Draw or paint your dream on paper. With this, your dream takes shape in your mind. Dreaming is a good thing, it motivates you. It gives you strength against obstacles. Even if you fall, it makes you keep going again.

That’s all well and good, but why do you find it difficult to realize your dream?

The answer is according to Sinan Canan,

No matter how much we draw our dream, write it on paper, work hard, our daily routines and what we want to do, our dream, do not coincide.

Photo by Armand Khoury on Unsplash

The course of our lives is hidden in what we do and the small decisions we make that seem insignificant. For example, as a mother, I have tasks to do during the day (taking care of my son, tidying the house, washing the dishes).

“But I don’t have any free time in the midst of all my work? How am I going to fulfill my dream of being a writer?” I might complain.

However, if I dream of “becoming a writer”, I need to get up at least half an hour earlier than the time I have to get up every morning. That way I can make time to be a writer. I will have taken my first step towards becoming a writer. But if I don’t do that so that I can get a little more sleep, then I’m not investing enough in my dream. I’ll just keep doing housework, even if I don’t want to. My dream remains a dream. My dream becomes impossible.

Sometimes, even though we work hard for our dream, it never comes true. Because we can stay where we are.

If I just write all the time, if I don’t publish, if I don’t show what I write to those who know, if I don’t ask for advice or take a writing course…

Because I can’t have other perspectives, I can’t see the opportunities on the path of writing. I cannot improve myself through those opportunities. Others will not read my writing. I won’t be recognized as a writer. And so on and so on…
I don’t change my destiny. I’ll always have to do work I don’t want to do.

I know it’s easy to write from here. It’s hard to leave your comfort zone for each new and different step. “I’ll deal with that insomnia… I have no money…” You can multiply these examples yourself.
If you can remind yourself, there is ease and beauty at the end of every difficulty.

“If you know what you want to do, the how is solved,” says Sinan Canan.

Go ahead, start somewhere. If it doesn’t work that way, try another way!….

But try, try, try!

If you don’t try and do it, you will regret it for the rest of your life.
You only come to this world once. You don’t have another chance. Your life is passing by.

Let’s make your dream come true!

--

--

Büşra Ergül
Become Better

Kendi sesimi duyurmak ve seninle sohbet etmek için buradayım. Anneliğimi, kendi duygularımı, hayat hakkındaki düşüncelerimi, iç çatışmamı seninle paylaşıyorum.