Cultural Transmission

Keitlyn Alcantara
Becoming Human Fall 2021
5 min readDec 18, 2021

In our third module, we learned about early hominins (the early extinct relatives on the human family tree). A key moment in human evolution was the cultural leap made possible by knowledge transmission, which allowed hominins to develop archives of knowledge that extended beyond any single lifetime. By maintaining these networks of knowledge, things like toolmaking, hunting, gathering, eating plants and animals, observing changes in seasons, etc. were passed down through generations, rather than having to be rediscovered or reinvented with each new person. Cultural evolution, which can happen much more quickly than biological evolution, helped hominins solve problems in their environments, and develop complex and efficient solutions.

Image of Neanderthal foraging, from “The Skeletons of Shanidar Cave” https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-skeletons-of-shanidar-cave-7028477/

In this assignment, students were asked to think about a skill that they learned through cultural transmission, that produces a physical outcome (an artifact). The chosen skill must represent knowledge that passed through at least two people before the student, representing accumulated knowledge that allowed them to gain skills that extended beyond their own lived experience. Students could opt to submit either a 2–3 minute video, or a 2–3 page written piece. Below are the top submissions for this assignment, published with student permission.

Austrian Apple Kuchen (Ellie Smith)

Maggi Instant Noodles (Sakshi Gopalani) — excerpts

For as long as I can remember, my little sister and I get so excited when we smell maggi cooking in the kitchen. While American culture and college lifestyles put strong emphasis on ramen noodles, we grew up on a slightly different version of the instant noodle recipe in our household: Maggi. Basically, maggi is like comfort food instant noodles for Indian families. My mom would make it for my sister and I during our childhood when we were sick or having a bad day. My grandmother would make it for my mom and her brother during their childhoods as well.

I was fairly young when I realized that each time I had maggi, it would taste different. Everybody made it differently. My mom loved to put peas and carrots in it to add some nutritional value. My grandma and friends’ parents would make it without vegetables and added extra maggi seasoning (and it tasted way better that way). My dad would make it extra soupy in the winter or when we had a sore throat. I fondly remember my grandmother teaching me how to make it during the summer of my sixteenth year after she reminded me that I would eventually have to make it for myself when I left home.

Maggi History: Prior to this assignment, I had never looked into the history behind this meal. I have since learned that it did not even originate in India; Maggi actually was invented in Switzerland. They became popular in India in 1983 because of how quickly it was possible to make it. Because longstanding cultural expectations and family dynamics perpetrated the idea of women in the kitchen, and Indian food was known for taking a long time to prepare, the idea of “2 minute instant noodles” was revolutionary for the modernization and liberation of Indian mothers in the eighties. There was a strong appeal in the idea that women could make quick and satisfying meals while also balancing other responsibilities and a career. That was probably also the appeal to my mom, who had to balance two children and her career. That is why I eat it now as often as I do, because it is difficult to spend a lot of time cooking during busy school days. The cultural significance of maggi has had a direct correlation with gender roles and women’s liberation in the past couple decades.

Sewing home-made pants (Meredith Larson)

Making Coffee with a French Press (Bre Castaneda) — excerpts

Instructions for French Press via https://voltagecoffee.com/french-press/

While many of us are accustomed to quick, machine-made coffee, manual coffee brewing techniques have been around for centuries (even if they have attained a sort of hipster status). With the Turkish Ibrik brewing method tracing back to the 16th century, to the Biggin pots first becoming commercially available during the late 18th century, to the Aeropress of the 21st century, manually-based coffee brewing is still a preferred means of getting your morning cup of Joe for many. Despite all this, the French press continues to be one of the simplest, and most popular techniques for people to make their morning cup of Joe.

Though I regularly make my coffee using a French press, I didn’t actually learn to make it this way through a friend or relative of mine. (Most of the people I know use coffee machines, and since my apartment is pretty small, a French press offers me much more counter space.) I’m a bit of a coffee fanatic, so I grew to enjoy learning about different coffee brewing methods, and the French press stuck for its relative ease, practicality, and more robust, flavorful brew it produced compared to most machine-brewed techniques. Instead, I learned how to use a French press through various YouTube videos, often made by coffee experts and present/former baristas, who likely learned from other coffee experts, baristas, or friends/relatives that are already familiar with French press brewing. This line of transmission would stretch back to the French press’s two Parisian inventors, as it was patented by Mayer and Delforge in 1852.

…because we live in an Internet dominated society, my generation has grown to use the internet as a way to attain new skills without having to consult with a live expert. As such, archaeologists [who came across this artifact] would need to take into consideration how cultural transmission happens through the Internet, especially through video tutorials, blog posts, and digital step-by-step guides.

Sources:

https://baristawarehouse.com.au/blogs/learn/history-of-thefrench-press-coffee-maker

https://slate.com/human-interest/2013/07/how-to-make-amazing-coffee-at-home-even-ifyoure-cheap-and-lazy.html.

https://www.aeropress.co.uk/blogs/news/history-brewing-coffee.

The Braided Friendship Bracelet

Braided Friendship Bracelets (Regan Russell)

The Tradition of Wassail

The Tradition of Wassail (Evangelina Gaspero)

--

--

Keitlyn Alcantara
Becoming Human Fall 2021

Anthropological bioarchaeologist, writer, and believer in food as the solution to everything.