Quick Update — Final “Legal” Steps

Liam Ashtyn
Becoming Liam
Published in
1 min readAug 7, 2020

Hey folks. Just a really quick update this week.

  1. SSA received my request for a legal name and gender change on July 20th.
  2. I called SSA on August 5th to verify receipt. The representative I spoke with said that his manager picked it up off his desk and would be reviewing it. WHY did it take so long for him to even pick it up to review??? UGH! Government.
  3. I called this morning and got some SSA representative in another county who patched me through to this manager. He wasn’t available; so I left a voicemail. If I don’t hear from him before 2 PM today, I will be calling back. It’s ridiculous that it takes them this long to process something so minor (since I provided all the required documentation).
  4. I filled out all the forms this week for my top surgeon to obtain preauthorization from BCBS of Mass to approve and cover 80% of my top surgery. They received the required info from my top surgeon Tuesday. They have 48 hours to provide a decision. 🤞🤞🤞 that I get a “YES” on Monday.

More to come once I have some updates.

PEACE AND LOVE, everyone! Take care of yourselves…and each other.

--

--