I Don’t Want to Make Time for That
Image by pasja1000 from Pixabay

Becoming Superhuman

I Don’t Want to Make Time for That

Stop blaming external circumstances and seeking excuses

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Becoming Superhuman
2 min readFeb 26, 2020

--

A Better Way of Saying “I Don’t Have Time for That”

Today I Learned to Exchange “I Don’t Have Time for That” for “I Don’t Want to Make Time for That.”

Of course there are certain exceptions where you literally don’t have time for something (e.g. you are stuck in traffic), but for the most part, I have realized that it’s usually more a choice whether you want to make time for something or not, than truly having no time for something.

This also makes me much more honest toward myself. I don’t try to “blame” an external circumstance for my lack of time nor make it as an excuse.

Rather, I try to take up the responsibility to myself (rather than external circumstances).

It also requires a lot more confidence and vulnerability to say to your friends “I don’t want to hang out” rather than “I don’t have time for that”.

I guess, then, that this way of thinking will also train my confidence.

“Our lack of confidence is not the result of difficulty. The difficulty comes from our lack of confidence.” — Seneca the Younger

If you liked this article, you may also like this one:

--

--

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Becoming Superhuman

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)