My Thoughts On “Winning” People Over Techniques
Image by Alex Yomare from Pixabay

Self Improvement

My Thoughts On “Winning” People Over Techniques

“Judge actions by their consequences; judge people by their intent.”

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Becoming Superhuman
3 min readDec 31, 2019

--

I actually have read a couple of books I would classify as teaching you techniques to “win” people over. The most famous example, of course, is this one:

And the most recent one I read:

They teach you all kind of techniques most people would call manipulative and I agree. But really, when do you consider something manipulative? Is wearing makeup or adding a filter to your Snap picture considered manipulative too?

I believe the question shouldn’t be “Is it manipulative or not”, instead, it should be “Is it, relatively seen, good or not?” I even made a chapter about relativism while applying it to my…

--

--

Lorenz Duremdes, Polymath
Becoming Superhuman

Primary: Intelligence Amplification (Overlap: Computer Science) | Secondary: Sports (Data) Science (Specialization: Road Cycling and Resistance Training)