ADV Eartune Fidelity U Eartip Impressions

Alec
Bedrock Reviews

--

The Eartune Fidelity U eartips are elliptical aftermarket in-ear monitor (IEM) eartips by ADV. The Eartune Fidelity U eartips retail for $24.99 per three-pack. It should be noted that this is very expensive, even among other aftermarket IEM tips. ADV shipped me four three-packs of Eartune Fidelity U eartips in XS, S, M, and L sizes free of charge in exchange for my impressions.

The silicone used in the Eartune Fidelity U eartips was of noticeably higher quality than many other aftermarket tips in terms of feel. The eartips are very soft and quite stretchy. They are extremely comfortable and seal well if inserted deep enough. This can be challenging with many shallow-fitting IEMs because the appropriateness of the eartips’ sizing nomenclature is questionable. The eartips in each size category seem undersized by around one full step compared to other eartips. I found the eartips work best with IEMs that insert deeper into the ear canal, a category many Moondrop IEMs fall into.

The Eartune Fidelity U eartips are advertised for use with IEMs with a nozzle diameter of 4mm to 6mm. It does take some effort to get the Eartune Fidelity U eartips onto IEMs with larger nozzle bores, like the Moondrop S8. I have not had any issues with the Eartune Fidelity U eartips coming off of the nozzle of the IEM they were attached to inside my ear when taking IEMs out. The eartips also seem durable.

The Eartune Fidelity U eartips use a Wide-Exit-Bore (WEB) design. This is advertised as being intended to preserve transparency and avoid altering the original sound signature of the IEMs you use the eartips with. This claim is essentially true, as evidenced by my objective measurements in addition to my subjective impressions.

Moondrop Super Spaceship Pulse (SSP)
Moondrop S8
Moondrop Starfield

Still, $25 for a three-pack is an ambitious asking price, even for an audiophile. However, there is a demographic that may be very interested in the Eartune Fidelity U eartips: listeners with silicone allergies.

A couple of years ago, after more than a decade of using IEMs with some frequency, I began having allergic reactions to silicone eartips. The severity of the reaction varies between eartip makes. The reaction is more severe with the generic silicone eartips commonly included with budget IEMs, but it also occurs with pricier aftermarket silicone eartips, including Spinfit eartips and AZLA Sedna Earfit Tips. My allergist suggested that I may not be allergic to silicone itself but to another compound used in eartip manufacturing. I have used foam eartips for most of my listening in the last few years as a result.

I was told by the ADV representative who approached me that the Eartune Fidelity U eartips “do not cause itching or allergic reactions like other plastic or PVC material.” While this was not my experience, the allergic reaction I have to the Eartune Fidelity U eartips was by far the mildest I have had to any silicone eartip since developing my allergy. I can wear the Eartune Fidelity U for several hours a day for multiple consecutive days before needing to take a break to apply restorative ointment, which is a significant improvement over the multitude of aftermarket silicone eartips I have in my collection.

While the Eartune Fidelity U eartips are a fantastic aftermarket offering, their high price makes them difficult to recommend outside of niche use cases. A lower list price more in line with the competition would go a long way towards changing that.

The Eartune Fidelity U eartips can be purchased below:

Eartune Fidelity U | Elliptical Audiophile IEM Tips — ADV. (adv-sound.com)

--

--