E1DA 9038D Impressions

Alec
Bedrock Reviews
5 min readJan 31, 2021

--

The E1DA 9038D is a compact digital-to-analog converter (DAC) and amplifier combination unit which connects to the source devices via USB-C. The 9038D follows in the footsteps of the 9038S, which I reviewed here:

E1DA 9038S Gen 3 Review

Unlike the 9038S and other E1DA products, the 9038D opts for an unbalanced 3.5mm audio jack instead of a 2.5mm balanced connection.
The 9038D was provided to me for review by HiFiGo, where it is available for purchase starting at $99.99 for the DAC/AMP only “Bundle 1.” If you do purchase the 9038D, I recommend opting for the slightly more expensive “Bundle 3” for reasons I will cover in this review.

PACKAGING, ACCESSORIES, AND FUNCTIONALITY:

The E1DA 9038D comes in a small rectangular white box featuring a diagram of the device on the lid. The review unit I received did not include any additional cables. However, the 9038D proved compatible with every USB C-C cable I have used it with as well as the Y-split USB OTG cable included in some 9038S bundles. This cable features one male USB-C connector, one male USB-A connector, and one female USB-A connector. The USB-C connector plugs into the transport device, the male USB-A connector plugs into a power source such as a portable power bank, and the female USB-A connector plugs to the 9038D via a male USB-A to male USB-C cable.

I noted in my 9038S review that I experienced signal dropouts and stuttering using the 9038S with certain USB 3.0 Type-A ports. E1DA rectified this issue with a firmware update by the time I received the 9038D. It is possible the issue existed with the default firmware on the 9038D, but I updated the firmware to the most current version available upon receiving the device. E1DA is one of a small number of manufacturers in the audiophile source device space that consistently works to address problems and concerns for existing owners without requiring them to purchase new hardware. The quality of their aftermarket support and the responsiveness of E1DA’s employees through their official Discord server is notable and praiseworthy.

SOUND:

Despite being an unbalanced source, the 9038D is more than powerful enough to drive any of the portable headphones I have in my inventory to dangerous volumes. I have not heard hiss with the 9038D even with multi-balanced armature in-ear monitors.

Despite my long-held skepticism of audible differentiation between competently designed source devices, I learned during my review of the E1DA 9038S that, at a minimum, I can hear the difference between a minimum phase digital filter and a linear phase filter in a sighted, volume-matched, non-instantaneous switching comparison. The E1DA 9038S, with its default linear phase filter, offered a minute sense of improved clarity and detail retrieval over my JDS Labs Element’s minimum phase filter. E1DA offers a variety of different flashable firmware options with different digital filters, and I encourage owners of the 9038D and 9038S to experiment with them. I have been completely satisfied with the default digital filter on the 9038D, which is a linear phase, slow roll-off filter. I do not think I would be able to tell the 9038D and the 9038S apart in a blind test with their default digital filters. Both devices are transparent.

A NOTE ON TWEAK:

E1DA offers an Android app called Tweak that works with the 9038D and 9038S. The primary benefit offered by the free version of this app is the ability to limit the device’s maximum output level. This is useful for preventing accidental hearing damage using IEMs with the 9038 lineup given the tremendous power of these devices. I have not purchased the Pro version of the Tweak app, which offers a variety of on-the-fly parameter adjustments, including digital filter selection. If I purchase the Pro version in the future I will update this section.

POWER CONSUMPTION:
The following power consumption measurement was taken while the E1DA 9038D was in use:

I measured power consumption on several different source devices, including my desktop PC and two different Android smartphones, and the power draw readings were consistent across all of them. They are also broadly similar to that of the E1DA 9038S Gen 3:

The power draw for both devices is far higher than that of the gold standard for USB-C audio devices, the Apple dongle:

For this reason, I recommend using the 9038D either with a dedicated music transport device, preferably with a large battery or with a PC.

CLOSING WORDS:

For those who primarily listen to IEMs or efficient over-ear headphones, the E1DA 9038D is a capable alternative to a desktop stack, and I give it my unqualified recommendation for this purpose. It is less-suited for use as a dongle replacement given its high power draw but is usable in a portable context with a dedicated audio transport device.

The E1DA 9038D can be purchased below:

E1DA 9038D USB Headphone Amp 3.5mm jack unbalanced output DAC+HPA — HiFiGo

--

--