Fiio Q1 MkII Review

Alec
Bedrock Reviews

--

Introduction:

I was lucky enough to be selected to take part in the Fiio Q1 MkII review tour. My own focus in these impressions is going to be less about the sonic characteristics of the N3 and more about its functionality as it applies to my particular needs.

About Me:

I listen mostly to heavy metal, hip hop, and electronic music, as well as movie and video game soundtracks. I value detail, clarity, and soundstage above other acoustic qualities, and generally prefer a V-shaped sound signature. I don’t possess any DSD format music and have only a little in the way of Hi-Res FLAC. Most of my portable listening has been straight out of a smartphone, or occasionally out of of my Fiio E6 portable amplifier. I have owned the Fiio X1 (first gen) and briefly owned the Fiio X1 (2nd gen). For desktop listening, I use the JDS Labs Element. I currently own the Campfire Audio Polaris (received today), Mee Audio Pinnacle P1, Mee Audio Pinnacle P2, E-MU Teak, KZ ATE, Mixcder X5, and Archeer AH07, and have owned the Fostex TH-X00, V-Moda M-80, V-Moda LP2 Crossfade, Mee Audio M6, Hifiman HE-400S, and (very briefly) Phillips Fidelio X2.

Other equipment used:

I mostly used the Fiio Q1 MkII as a DAC/AMP with a Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 Android smartphone running a custom Nougut ROM, using either Spotify Premium HQ streaming or 16…

--

--