Mixcder X5 Review

Alec
Bedrock Reviews
6 min readMay 3, 2018

--

INTRODUCTION
Disclaimer: This review was based upon a sample unit provided to me by the manufacturer in exchange for my honest and unfiltered opinion. I am not being compensated in any way for writing this review. I would like to thank Mixcder for sending me this review unit.

ABOUT ME

I listen mostly to heavy metal, hip hop, and electronic music, as well as movie and video game soundtracks. I value detail, clarity, and soundstage above other acoustic qualities. I like V-shaped sound signatures, generally those with more of an emphasis on the treble. Other headphones I own or have owned in the past include the Campfire Audio Polaris, Meze 99 Neo, E-MU Teak, Mee Audio P1 Pinnacle, Mee Audio P2 Pinnacle, Fostex TH-X00, V-Moda M-80, V-Moda LP2 Crossfade, Beyerdynamic DT-770 (250 ohm), KZ ATE, Mixcder X5, Mee Audio M6, Hifiman HE-400S, and (very briefly) Phillips Fidelio X2.

SOURCES

I have used the Mixcder X5 with a Blu HD R1 Android smartphone running Marshmallow and on my Windows 10 PC through a JDS Labs The Element, listening to either Spotify Premium high-quality streaming or local FLAC.

PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES
The Mixcder X5 comes in a small oblong zippered carry case with 2 pairs of silicone earhooks for sport use and 4 pairs of silicone eartips (double-flange, large, medium, and small). The finish of the carry case is good and appears sturdily made. It also comes with a small carabiner.

BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN
The driver housings are made of an aluminum-alloy. Finish is high quality. There is strain relief where the driver housing meets the cable, which is greatly appreciated as my KZ ATE’s failed because of cable fraying at this point. The cable is opaque, smooth, and stiff, not rubbery. It tends not to tangle. My one quibble with the design is that the jack is straight and not L-shaped.

FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION
The Mixcder X5 is designed to be worn cable down. The housing does not protrude into my ear on any side, and is comfortable to wear for long periods of time. The housing is compact enough that it does not protrude far past the ear. It is possible to sleep on one’s side wearing these comfortably. My right ear canal is slightly smaller than the left, so I often have to mix and match earbud tips to find a good seal. However, the included medium eartips fit well enough to use for this review. They are slightly bigger than I am used to, but isolation is above average.

MIC/ CALL QUALITY
On the phone calls I have made using this headset, call quality was good, and the person on the other end of the phone call had no difficulty hearing or understanding me.

SOUND QUALITY
The following observations were made using a combination of Tidal Hifi, local FLAC and 320 kbps Spotify Premium.

General:
The Mixcder X5 has a boosted low end (especially sub-bass), a linear if slightly recessed midrange, and a subdued treble region. The bass is not boomy or bloated, but is a controlled rumble. Sub-bass extension is excellent. I could pick out the bass guitar line in songs I had not been able to before. They approach basshead territory, and are excellent for electronic music. However, I think the best part of these headphones how amazing distorted electric guitars sound. Guitars are clear and crunchy. It was shockingly easy to follow riffs under vocals or guitar solos. Male vocals that are on the raspier side are often slightly recessed. Soundstage is average. Instrument separation is above average.

Specific impressions:
Desolation Lamb of God (Groove Metal) The first song I listened to on these headphones. Guitar riffs are super clear and easy to follow. Thunderous low end. Vocals are slightly recessed.
Take This LifeIn Flames (Melodic Death Metal)
I’ve never been able to hear the bass guitar in this song before listening with these. I can also pick out the riffs during the pre-chorus more clearly. The keyboard during the chorus is difficult to make out. Cymbals are clearer than on other metal tracks I’ve listened to so far. Vocals are slightly recessed.
SeeyaDeadmau5 (Progressive House)
The bass stomps on this track. Great impact on the kick drum sample. Female vocals don’t seem to be recessed the way harsh male vocals are. The cymbal samples are also easier to hear than on most of the metal I’ve listened to.
Free the MadnessSteve Aoki (Electro House)
Similar to the Deadmau5 track in terms of excellent bass impact. MGK’s vocals sound sibilant at times, which is weird given the generally recessed treble I’ve noticed so far. Good separation of the various synth lines. These headphones really shine on bass music.
Me Okay — Jeezy (Rap) The soundstage on a track like this with (relatively) sparse instrumentation is much less congested than on the metal and electronic tracks previously examined. The headphones appear to benefit from having breathing room. Kick drum sample is a little boomy. Vocals are very clear.

MEASUREMENTS

My measurements were conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface at a resonance point between 7.5 and 8k. The measurements are presented with 1/24th smoothing and without compensation. Measurements above 10k are not reliable.

SELECTED COMPARISONS

X5 ($10) vs Yersen FEN-2000 ($25)

Midrange is more recessed on the X5. X5 has slightly better sub-bass extension. FEN-2000 has more mid-bass and slam. Treble is rolled off on the X5 in comparison. FEN-2000 has better detail retrieval. X5 is much more comfortable, but does not isolate as well. X5 has a bigger soundstage and better separation. Dynamics are better on the FEN-2000. FEN-2000 is more efficient.

AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
The Mixcder X5 is reasonably efficient and is comfortably driven from a smartphone.

SUMMARY
The Mixcder X5 is a well-made and musical IEM. I was very impressed with the build quality and the sound was surprisingly good even in genres I did not expect these headphones to play nice with. I recommend them for electronic music and hard rock/heavy metal.

--

--