Remote Facilitator Tools

Sony Maia
Bee Lab Academy
Published in
4 min readNov 14, 2019

--

Today remote work is no longer the future but the present. So, on second thought, I decided to write this post with some tools I already used to facilitate remote meetings.
The idea here is to create a repository. So as I get to know and use new tools, I will update this post.
Now let’s go to the tools:

Meeting

REMO

What do you think about having N meetings happening at the same time and people can choose which one to attend? and all this remotely. The Remo tool can help you with this facilitation.

REMO

How I used it: I used this tool in a retrospective, where we split into groups and each group had topics to discuss, and then one person in the group presented the actions to everyone.

SOCOCO

Sococo is the online workplace where distributed teams come to work together each day, side-by-side. No matter where team members might be.

SOCOCO

How I used it: I haven’t used it yet, but I have feedbacks from some companies that are using and like it a lot

Draw collaboratively

MIRO

How about creating drawings, flow charts, mind maps, etc. collaboratively?! Miro is perfect for that

MIRO

How I used it: We needed to build a strategic map of the company along with its running activities. The number of areas was over 20 and in different locations. so as MVP we used this tool for each area to add information and as it is a drawing tool allowed us to create any format to group this information (Flowchart, Board, Tables)

Deskle

Very similar with miro we have this other option

Webwhiteboard

Another simpler option is the Webwhiteboard

WEBWHITEBOARD

Games

KAHOOT

Creating a quiz game and creating a ranking is very easy using this tool.

KAHOOT

MENTIMETER

Use the Mentimeter Quiz question type to create fun competitions and you can also add polls, word clouds, questions, and answers.

MENTIMETER

How I used it: These tools for those attending big events have probably come across one of them. Very used to interact with the public. I used to get feedback from people. I also did some research to know the level of knowledge of people before giving my lecture and therefore if I could use more technical terms or if I should use lay terms.

SLIDO

Let everyone in the audience ask their questions and vote for the ones they like the most. Slido will help you prioritize the discussion topics for conference Q&As, panel discussions or all-hands meetings.

SLIDO

How I used it: In addition to leaving a question panel open during a presentation for many people … it has other tools that can help collect feedback

Planning

PLANNINGPOKER

When it comes to discussing the complexity of demands, what do you think about running a Planning Poker?

Lean Coffee e Virtual Board

LEAN COFFEE TABLE

How about a tool to facilitate your remote lean coffee.

LEAN COFFEE TABLE

How I used it: I haven’t used it yet but had good feedbacks about this tool

FUNRETRO

Great board to organize your retrospective

FUNRETRO

TRELLO

Create a board in just seconds, Trello is super simple and practical, being a favorite of many facilitators and development teams.

TRELLO

What tools do you usually apply to your daily remote job? What other ways do you use these tools? Do you have other tools to share? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Sony Maia
Bee Lab Academy

Agilist. Helping and encouraging teams and organizations to seek continuous improvement towards high performance