Filmed by Igor using his drone

Flying high: how to play with drones in the sky

VEON Careers
5 min readDec 1, 2016

Meet Igor, Head of integration and systems support at Beeline Russia. In this interview, he gives insights on everything from finding issues and managing teams to building from scratch and chasing the special things in life. Also, you’ll get some awesome info on drones.

For Igor, nothing is more fun than building a drone and flying the machine over the Maldives. The images he captures are insanely beautiful. Follow the link and watch. You’ll be amazed.

Right now, drones are mostly an exciting hobby for Igor. But they could, he hopes, revolutionize his work at Beeline in the future. After all, drones could become critical equipment in the telecom industry for tasks like monitoring network infrastructure.

So, let’s get to know Igor. In this interview, you’ll hear how Igor is using his talents at Beeline, get advice on how to avoid the swamp, learn about where he gets inspiration, and more.

filmed by Igor using his drone.

You’re doing a lot at Beeline. Give some details.

There are three streams with what I’m doing at Beeline Russia.

First, we are integrating all the tech systems. We want the systems to speak with each other and provide reliable, fast service.

Second, we are handling the monitoring system, which involves following subscriber traffic, overseeing infrastructure, and managing applications. The key here is to find and fix issues for clients.

Third, we are managing support systems. The scope is large. We also run our internal social networks, which we are connecting to our IT systems. On this internal social media platform, employees can easily collaborate. Right now, employees are writing code and we are creating a code repository. It’s quite neat.

How does it feel to have all this responsibility?

There is never a boring moment. We are solving key issues, and we feel very close to our clients and our employees. It’s great to be challenged and work on important projects.

What made you come to Beeline Russia?

The immediate attraction was the chance to run a big new department and build something from scratch. My first goal was to build our own department structure. While there have been obstacles to overcome, it’s been a great experience. And our department is getting better every day. I really enjoy the way Beeline is challenging me to do something great.

Also, the company itself is another reason why I decided to join. Beeline is a fast-changing data company that is very dynamic. It is one of the first companies in telecom to undergo a digital transformation. And I wanted to be a part of this.

Igor’s drone

How big is your team? And how do you get people to join?

We have about 50 people in our Moscow office, and about 10 in other locations. When I try to get people to join, I use the swamp metaphor. I tell candidates that, if you’re fed up with the swamp, come to Beeline, where you’ll never feel stuck! I let them know that they’ll be part of something special here. Their impact and necessity will be felt — which is important for many people.

What do you look for in candidates?

Again, I want candidates that don’t want to be in the swamp! They have to wish to be important. They should have an interest in learning new things and solving problems. I always ask to see how they’ve handled challenging tasks and projects in the past. Also, I pay attention to communication ability. Finding someone who is both technical and communicative is tough. But I need people that have both.

What things do you do for inspiration?

Recently, I read Lean Startup, which was really insightful. I also just took a Beeline course about applying lean principles to IT. Now, when new problems arise at work, I’m thinking about ideas from that course and Lean Startup to use. This has enabled me to look for the most efficient solutions, and to test things before using too many resources.

Do you have any music, books, or other interests outside work?

I like house music. Have a listen:

One book I really like is Blue Ocean Strategy, which tells you a lot about life and business. I really like the theme of breaking into new waters and seizing new opportunities.

In terms of hobbies, my favorite thing is by far remote control modeling. I have a drone I partially made by myself, and I fly it every chance I get. In a way, it gets me out of the swamp. I’m up in the sky, discovering new things and seeing the world from a new angle! I really think there is much opportunity for Beeline to use drones. I’m excited to see what will happen in the future.

Could you describe Beeline in three hashtags?

Interesting. I would say, #Dynamic, #Innovative, and #Bright.

What about your team in three hashtags

#Reliable, #Active, and #Experienced.

What about your job in three emojis?

Now, you know Igor. There are many things you can take from this interview. Especially if you’re stuck in a rut (or a swamp). There are great things out there to see (like drone videos), and even greater things for you to accomplish. Don’t just go through the motions. Go challenge yourself, and see how high you can fly.

Heart me maybe…

--

--

VEON Careers

At VEON, we know much of the world counts on us (10% and growing). We know that sitting down and being complacent with the status quo just isn’t an option.