3 Strategies for Building a Consumer Product Brand from a Tech Industry Veteran

Springboard Enterprises
Been There Run That
3 min readMay 3, 2018

Laura McCann, Co-Founder & CEO of ADORAtherapy shares tips on building a successful product brand.

For over 20 years I worked in fashion and technology manufacturing apparel products and later building a software company in Fashion and Retail. Today, as the founder of Adoratherapy, a manufacturer of organic essential oil blends we call Mood Boosts, I find I have insights that would have been incredibly useful to me when I launched my previous companies.

1. Know where you are and where you want to be

In the early days of Adoratherapy, there were so many projects. Using the skill sets I learned as a project manager working on big IT projects, I knew we needed to clearly define scope, assign roles, estimate budgets and prioritize. We also needed to understand where we had been and where we wanted to go. “Measure twice and cut once” is a key lesson learned. As much as jumping in and getting things done was essential, making sure the underlying strategy was nailed down was even more important. When we slowed things down we actually moved faster in the long run.

2. Digital and analog expertise are key

We are constantly developing branded content. Building our brand visually requires constant creative direction but also an understanding of many technical platforms. An advantage we had from my background in fashion was working with creative agencies and freelance designers to convey our brand with authenticity and originality without spending a fortune. My years in tech also helped me make tough choices around selecting the right website platform, marketing and campaign software and implementing software. Without my creative and tech skill set we would have had to spend so much more money and each decision would have been daunting. If these are not your skill sets be prepared to put in more time and effort in this part of your business then you might like to.

3. Courage in the face of financial struggles

When we started out we could not anticipate all of our capital needs. Borrowing money was a challenge because we needed to show proof of concept and more of a track record but we were just starting out. We had access to money through credit cards and we had a home we could use to collateralize the business. We made the choice to risk it all and leveraged our finances to grow the business. Building a business takes time, deep pockets and tremendous faith in oneself. Along the way I have learned to incorporate mindfulness practices into my day to day. I try not to wear myself out and push myself to the limit.

When I started my first business I relied on my education and experience. My curiosity and determination pulled me forward. Many decades later, having built an apparel buying agency, a software company, a digital marketing agency and now a beauty brand I clearly see that vision and purpose are not enough to get through the day to day of building a business. Courage in the face of imminent struggle, learning to love yourself when things are falling apart, seeing myself as a limited resource, these are the key insights I wish I had had.

About the author

Laura McCann lives in Asheville, North Carolina. As founder and CEO of Adoratherapy, an aromatherapy manufacturer, her interest in entrepreneurship and personal transformation have finally come together after decades of business building in fashion, retail and tech. Home of the Mood Boost, Adoratherapy’s products bring together intention and breath offering a healthy alternative to stress reduction. “Adore Yourself!” is Laura’s personal mantra and every Adoratherapy product reminds you to take on the personal journey of healing through self love.

--

--

Springboard Enterprises
Been There Run That

Springboard’s mission is to accelerate the growth of companies led by women through access to essential resources and a global community of experts.