Rock and Roll Readiness

Vanessa Ogle, CEO of Enseo, shares five riffs on how to survive and thrive in uncertain times.

Springboard Enterprises
Been There Run That
3 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

Photo by Aditya Chinchure on Unsplash

Music has always been part of my life but I never dreamed that integrating a personal passion into my business could help me succeed. It’s inspired the very improvisation, trust, and communication that allowed my business to flourish. I’m grateful for those lessons, now more than ever. These five onstage lessons helped me succeed.

1. Never Throw Out the Tambourine Player. This seems so silly because anyone can play the tambourine, right?! Surely the lead guitar is more important?! No! We forget that the ENTIRE band and crew is critical to success. I’ve spent 20 years forming the perfect band — that elusive team that most CEO’s never find. It is rare, precious, and FUN! I try to show my appreciation to my rock star team regularly. Most concerts take a moment to shine a spotlight on each band member. We all need to do more of this.

2. Even Rock Stars Need To “Catch A Break.” Every rock star started somewhere — playing in coffee shops and dingy bars — before an agent signed them or a talent scout found them. I also caught a break. Leaders from billion-dollar companies took a chance on a small, Latina-owned business. They gave me my “backstage pass.” The rest was up to Enseo. These rock star company leaders have one thing in common: there’s no room for mediocrity. They gave me my shot at the mic, but don’t think for a minute they wouldn’t have been Simon on the eject buzzer if I didn’t meet expectations. I’m grateful for the chances given to me; I’m always looking to give chances to others. It’s not a handout. It is an opportunity. What you make of it is up to you.

3. Practice Practice Practice. My husband and I each have our own bands. Sometimes I watch my husband prepare for one of his concerts; practice is boring and (unlike watching him onstage) it is not sexy. Before he can just PLAY THE MUSIC, he makes sure there is a backup for every piece of equipment. Even his backups have backups! He also practices every day, playing countless, tedious scales. But he’s built an incredible foundation that allows him to move fast, improvise as needed, and play an amazing show.

4. Appreciate (and Read) Your Audience. No matter how talented the band, the best shows happen when we lean into the crowd’s incredible energy and improvise. This is the same in the business world. My primary customers (my audience) are in the hospitality industry; they were hungry for new solutions to return to readiness. We listened and improvised; they’ve applauded the results. Identify your most enthusiastic fans, ask what they want to hear, then perform. If you’ve earned their trust as a valued partner, they will want to work with you more than ever before. (ENCORE!!!)

5. Feel safe enough to do something dangerous. Innocence is critical in rock and roll. No matter how much I’ve practiced, I will never be perfect. But it’s way more fun to take the chance, to put myself out there. Find ways to make your team feel safe enough to do something dangerous. You will all love the results.

EXPECT THE UNEXPECTED. Something will go wrong at every show but the unexpected can lead to an even better performance. Same goes for business. Are we prepared or do we panic? Do we have the mojo to pivot when someone starts the wrong song? The unexpected is when the really talented musicians make magic happen.

Vanessa Ogle is the founder and CEO of Enseo® — one of the fastest-growing companies in America providing technology services to “people places,” like hotels and schools. She regularly appears as an industry expert on national broadcast programs including Bloomberg Radio, Fox Business, and Yahoo! Finance, where she discusses top hotel technology trends, including personalization, smart hotel rooms, and in-room entertainment. Vanessa currently holds 40 US patents and resides in Texas with her husband and four children.

--

--

Springboard Enterprises
Been There Run That

Springboard’s mission is to accelerate the growth of companies led by women through access to essential resources and a global community of experts.