Developing Culture and People

And DEVs

Taiyang Tavares Huang
beetech.global
4 min readSep 19, 2019

--

Every once in a while someone asks me why I have stayed so long at the same company since tech positions are so fluid in the market and my answer is the same:

I’m always learning!

A lot of developers I have met are always looking to learn something new and the opportunities to apply that new knowledge. This isn’t restricted to only developers, however. People are always more engaged when learning and feeling like they can contribute to the greater goal in a better way and, just like them, a company is also constantly learning and growing.

I have seen BeeTech grow from 7 collaborators to over 200 today, people have come and gone, ideas have risen and faded, but there are a few concepts in the culture that are set in stone here. The one I have seen most prevalent is the impulse to learn.

On our Instagram page you can check out more about our day to day life.

Our first tech day

People are always questioning and discussing new ideas regardless if those ideas will be used or not. I started automating processes when I first joined this startup and back then programming was just a hobby of mine, but everyone was open to help guide me.

About a year later I was learning about blockchain and sharing what I was learning with the team, so not only the most experienced have something to share here. I don’t think I would have had this much growth in the same timeframe in another company as I have here at BeeTech.

One of the other values I have seen here is the willingness to help others. Whether someone is just behind in experience or just having a bad day, I have seen people pause what they are doing to help someone in need.

Tech weekly in the beginning

The team was always willing to help me out and in return I wanted to help others whenever I saw they might be stuck on something. I have seen Product Owners assist developers and vice versa because they understood our deliveries were not made by one person. This level of teamwork means people start to feel a bit like family as you want them to do well and also feel their pain when something goes wrong.

Everyone aims to go after what they need to get the job done, but sometimes an extra hand is just that little push needed to move forward. We all participate in the delivery of projects and contribute to the company together. That was an important key to develop BeeTech’s main service:

Remessa Online

A charity action at the Julita Foundation our team participated in back in 2017

Since everyone is working together towards a goal, we are always worried about the outcome and delivery schedules in one way or another. Naturally, we have our jobs to do, but the entire team is focused on getting things ready on time.

Solutions are proposed and discussed together as a team, even if implementation falls to only a few people, since at one point or another most people will have to build on top of that work.

There are plenty of discussions because everyone has different ideas but we all want what is best for the team.

Second tech day with more activities

A lot of these points may seem like I am gushing about the culture (and in a certain way, I am), but all of this did not sprout out of nowhere,

everyone contributed to the creation of a workplace that we wanted to have.

Unlike our processes that have to be fluid and adaptable as necessary to keep us working properly without any hang-ups, a company’s culture is something that is very hard to be constantly changing. Things don’t have to be perfect, nothing really is after all, but a few key points can guide people towards setting up the framework of other concepts that may become the cornerstone of a culture.

I am proud to be a part of the company’s journey, to have grown alongside the people and BeeTech itself, and to have seen our culture grow from ideas to something shared by all collaborators.

Providing an environment for growth and teamwork is hands down the primary reason I have stayed here for four years now. I have been here so long my hair is beginning to grow white and it was worth it because seeing something grow from such a small seed is truly extraordinary.

We are still growing and I don’t see us stopping anytime soon.

And you can be part of this family too, check out our career options:

We also have a blog where you can check some of our latest news and more content.

Stay tuned!

#GoBee #VemPraBee

--

--