3 Poems

Socratic Quizmasters
BeetleBox
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2020

Away

A part of me is here, a part of me is lost,

A part of me is out looking for those parts.

I have lost my way twice today,

Once with you and once without.

You’re one poem away from me,

But I’m a poet of stars and galaxies.

Hell is just an inch away from heaven,

Heaven is the furthest thing from hell.

Pariah

Loitering around an overturned garbage can, with eyes which could mountains melt,

feet which shiver with precision,

belly fused with the spine,

he shall find some good reason.

Nine had it been since he had dined;

Time had I numbered, then days, then weeks and months.

From 93 million miles of distance, like the Sun.

Callous might I seem, not one grain I spared him,

Hours, then days, weeks then months I stared him.

He went from dreary number 42 to where there was nothing too,

but an overturned garbage can with selfish fleas, a million few

from the world where there were billions too,

he found his peace in solitude.

But nine months had passed and now he knew,

Days he had left but a few and the world was old, not an atom new.

He had learned all of you, from core to crust but nothing new.

Then one day I stood behind him,

Closer than anyone had ever been to him.

Too lost in surveying the garbage,

Too lost in thoughts to see,

He wagged his tail involuntarily,

for he subconsciously knew what came.

I hugged him, kissed him and held him close

and I took him to an ocean shore.

“I have seen the world enough and I shall glimpse it no more” looking at me then he said, “I had called you days so many, you waited and you looked, didn’t you?”

Tattered, tired, thirsty stood he,

Didn’t look back for once, for why would he?

Blue

Blue is the color of the open sky,

and when it's dark, that of the calm, serene ocean;

Darker yet, that of spirited, flowing ink

or of the later part of nightfall.

No, not for him.

Blue is perhaps the colour of kneeling, oppression, and murder.

The indelible hue that can’t be faded by

any amount of scarlet spilt from Black.

--

--

Socratic Quizmasters
BeetleBox

Extraordinary Stories told in Ordinary Ways. Unravelling the Uncommon in the Common. Epistemic Curation and Event Organisation. socraticquiz@gmail.com