Ethics in Photography with Strangers: A Personal Note

I try to shoot pictures every day and today I wanted to share a note about one.

In or Out is the same for me, I cumulate a lot of shoots every day. There are days that I need to go out and push the boundaries.

Most of you probably know Bruce Gilden's style. If not, you can read my article here below:

By the way, some days ago I was totally in the mood to push myself, I wanted to go straight to the face of the people in the street, call me an asshole if you want, but I won't feel the fear to approach the wrong person, I want to feel the adrenaline, to shoot with a flash in front of someone and see the reaction, mine and of the person.

https://www.instagram.com/emilianovittoriosi/

I have shot this picture, straight to the face of this guy. I didn’t want to hurt him, let’s be clear…

I realized that was the right subject to shoot with the flash on the face. If I did the same stuff with an Arab or a German, I would definitely have a discussion or a fight in the worst case.

I took the shoot and I continued to walk, and the guy was shaking, he didn’t know what to do in that situation. If someone would do the same with me I would be happy to see the result.

But never happened to me that someone after something like that, would stop me and say: hey, show me the picture, I’m curious… Most people stop me and ask to cancel the picture, I ask myself why?

I’m the kind of Creator and Photographer, that doesn’t have an image in mind, rarely. I have an idea, a feeling, and an intention, but not the final image, if I would have the final image, probably i would start to draw or paint again.

I want the unpredictable moment in front of me, I want a bit dive into the shit and see if I find the gold. This is for the Creativity, this is for the photography, this is for life, no other way than this one.

If you found this article useful, please follow me. I appreciate it. At the time of writing, I had 470 followers.

--

--

Emiliano Vittoriosi
Beex Project — Photography & Visual Art

Full creator, sharing my knowledge on various topics. From photography to social justice, exploring meaningful perspectives through my work.