Puzzle Pirates (2003)

Aun Collective
Before Azeroth
Published in
1 min readMar 24, 2021

Day #03

I discovered I was on a “doubloon ocean” which means even using items I purchased from a shop requires using cash shop currency. I moved over to the Spanish language International server, which appears to not be a doubloon ocean (at least upon first glance).

Starting over with my new rat, crate, and pile of newspapers for a bed. Get to redo early tutorial missions while trying to make my way through a language I have an intermediate-at-best reading comprehension level in. The puzzles are the same, though. Much quieter in chat, with not a single global chat post in my entire time playing. Oh well.

We’ll give this game 4 more days, given we’ll need at least one more to surpass where we were on Emerald. With the playerbase being as small as it is, I question whether keeping the game split into 4–5 Oceans is still the best move, especially if certain ones seemingly have barely any activity (i.e. the Spanish language International one). At least the options are there.

--

--

Aun Collective
Before Azeroth

We are a game preservationist, archivist, design and writing collective, focusing on multiplayer and massively multiplayer games. Also music preservation!