Is M1 Mac Worthy or Good for Developers? [Developer Review]

Elson
Before Semicolon

--

I decided to purchase the new Apple M1 MacBook Pro (2020) for development purposes. My current macs work great but I was sold on the long battery life and the power of the claimed M1 chip. Here is why I love it and I am hopeful.

What Kinda Developer Am I?

I am a Software & Web Developer and I work in an R&D department, so I am constantly researching and experimenting either for work or to create content. I use IntelliJ, WebStorm, PhpStorm, and Xcode depending on what I am coding.

I also have a Code YouTube channel which I use Adobe Premiere, Adobe Audition, Adobe After Effects, Adobe XD, Photoshop, and Illustrator to edit and prepare the content I post.

Why I bought It

I own a 2019 iMac which I mainly use for Audio, Video, and Text Editing for its power and convenience to always be in a nice desk. I also own a 2019 and 2015 MacBook Pros which I use for coding and research. My iMac fan goes out of control when I am exporting video or converting a lot of video files to mp4. My MacBooks fan screams when I am compiling a lot of code and sometimes I have to run many dev apps at once to test multiple services at once.

Sometimes I get an “out of memory warning” when I have a lot of things going on…

--

--

Elson
Before Semicolon

Software Engineer sharing knowledge, experience, and perspective from an employee and personal point of view.