Meet This Month’s Guest Curator: Lucas Camargo of Untitled Army

Behance
Behance Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2022

Looking for more posts on creativity by Behance? We’ve moved our blog over to behance.net/blog.

Each month we invite a creative from Behance to curate our social feed for a week. Our May Guest Curator is Brooklyn-based art director and animator behind Untitled Army, Lucas Camargo.

“UntitledArmy was a way I named myself when doing side art projects through the years. It was a way to push some of the frustration I had from agency life,” explains Lucas Carmago. The Brazilian artist, who now calls New York City his home, started his creative career in advertising, eventually climbing the ranks to become an art director and creative director. “The agency world was a hub early on that helped to capitalize my creativity into a viable career path, but unfortunately not a fulfilling experience.”

Art by Untitled Army

In 2017, Lucas decided to take a leap of faith and leave the advertising. He had been learning animation on his own time over the years, and decided to “start from scratch on the production side of things.” He joined an animation studio and is now the director of 3D animation at Roof Studio.

Medusa by Untitled Army

Although his life in the agency world was ultimately unsatisfying, Lucas does credit those years for helping him build on a vital skill set for being a successful creative. “I learned a lot on how to articulate a project, and it allowed me to touch on different areas from digital, print and film, and it taught me how important it is to curate your ideas.”

His experience working with agencies and clients gives him an upper hand today in his role as an animation director: “It definitely helps to understand some anxieties projects can bring into the creative teams.”

Art by Untitled Army

If going through a complete shift in his career was not overwhelming enough, Lucas also went through a divorce at the same time: “It was a painful moment in my life, basically I questioned everything I had done, seemed I had failed in my career and in my marriage, but art came to the rescue.”

Read the full interview on the new Behance blog

--

--

Behance
Behance Blog

Use Behance to showcase and discover creative work. We're on a mission to empower the creative world to make ideas happen.