Student Adobe Portfolio Spotlight: Back to School with Emily Prusak

Adobe Portfolio
Behance Blog
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2017

--

First, how about an intro? What’s your name, where are you from?

My name is Emily Prusak, and I’m from the great city of Columbus, Ohio!

What are you studying?

I am going into my senior year at Kent State University; studying Visual Communication Design with a minor in Photography.

When it comes to creative work, how do you get inspired? Who or what influences your work?

I see little bits of inspiration everywhere. Whether it’s a cool type treatment on an old vintage sign somewhere around Columbus or something I see while scrolling through the explore page on Instagram, I always take note in case it applies to a future project.

What creative project are you most proud of?

I am most proud of my work on a branding project for a fictional boxing gym called Spar. I actually took a kickboxing class to research the project. It was a very intimidating experience. I wanted to brand a gym that stripped down the typical aggressive atmosphere of a boxing gym and focused on empowering people. I really enjoyed defining the gym’s values and creating an aesthetic that encompassed its identity.

Spar Gym Branding Project by Emily Prusak

Has there been a particular course or assignment in school that you feel changed your creative work?

My illustration courses have encouraged me to bring a more hand-touched feeling into my work. I want to explore further hand-done typography and apply more hand-tooled details to future projects.

The Village Herb Shop by Emily Prusak

When it comes to showcasing and promoting your work, how does Adobe Portfolio play a part?

Adobe Portfolio is simple and easy to use. It really let’s me bring my vision to life without any code or complication, allowing the work to really shine.

What do you think are the most important elements to focus on, when creating a personal website?

I think it’s important to let your work speak for itself. Keep it simple, but let your personality show through by way of typography and color.

Emily’s full website can be found here. If you would like to create a portfolio of your own, head to Adobe Portfolio to get started.

--

--

Adobe Portfolio
Behance Blog

Beautifully simple. Free with Creative Cloud, showcasing your creativity is easy with Portfolio