True Heroism: From a Humanity Professor’s View

Jade
Behaved Mind
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2020
Photo by Gabriel Bassino on Unsplash

When I’m still in college, I once joined an essay contest in a youth magazine but I wasn’t able to submit an entry. It’s because I didn’t know who specifically the true hero or heroine was. They required a specific person or group of people that stand out. I randomly asked people around the university if who they think is the real hero/heroine.

Most of them answered parents because it’s not easy to be one. Mother has more points due to she is the one who bores. Growing a child is worth a billion they say. How much more for a three or four? I certainly agreed but somehow my parents make it look easy.

Related to that, some answered teachers. Because they are the one who helps mould children’s mind and acting as second parents. Spending your young life in school and working in school needs a different dedication and passion for teaching. Not everyone has that.

The third most answers were doctor and nurses because they save lives. I nodded but half convinced for they added that they are the most looked for. At that time medical professions are in demand, especially nurses. Yes, I can still agree. Having a chance to be infected with a disease is not a joke at all.

Some others answered police officers and soldiers because they risk their lives to save the people and the country from crimes and enemies. If you heard the saying, “one foot in the grave,” this uniformed personnel are most likely to be on top.

Lastly, to my surprise, only a few answered Philippine heroes like Jose Rizal, Andres Bonifacio, and Gabriela Silang. They and the others made the Philippines free from colonizers and paid their lives for their fellow Filipinos. History told why they are.

And then, I accidentally bumped with our Humanity instructor*. He looked bored more than relaxed so I decided to bother him. I started it about how to determine real heroism. He answered me with another question, “Who do you think is the real hero for you?” I answered that it is someone who can risk his or her life for someone or something without asking anything in return.

He then emphasized that I already know the answer, which made me more confused. But everyone’s answers seem like doing the same thing? He stared at me with the creased forehead. “What are the answers you got from everyone?” I told him and what he said next enlightened me.

All the professions that you mentioned are not heroes because they are paid to do what they need to do. You can’t also say that someone who died is a hero if possible death is part of their oath. Several of the licensed professionals are required to do pro bono. Some may also sign a contract or agreed to work more than eight hours a day.

A father who saved someone’s child could be a hero because that child is not his responsibility but it’s part of his responsibility as a citizen. If a medical practitioner saved a colleague while the clinic is burning could be a hero too because he is not a firefighter but his job is related to saving lives. Same as with the teachers saving those children because they are under their wings when in school.

After that, I thought of two possible options as a hero for my essay but I realized there is no one over the other. Everyone can be a hero. We helped someone once or many times in our lives willingly and without any expectations of payback. You’ll know if you are that one.

So, there is no best warrior among warriors. There are just many ways to lend a hand. Loving yourself is also an act of heroism and indeed by nature. When you are all alone, who do you think will save you aside from your faith?

*He already passed away; a reason I can’t tell any more details about him. I respect him and his family’s privacy.

--

--

Jade
Behaved Mind
0 Followers
Editor for

I am a Data Science enthusiast and would like to contribute anything for everyone’s health and the environment.