54 shortlisted for NCTJ Awards of Excellence

Some 54 students, trainees, apprentices, journalists and training providers have been shortlisted in the NCTJ Awards for Excellence 2020.

A record-breaking 417 entries were received across 15 categories, in addition to the students and trainees eligible for the student and trainee of the year awards.

Free to enter, the Awards for Excellence highlight the achievements of individuals with promising journalism careers ahead of them, and those doing outstanding work in the media and training sector.

There are five main categories for students, trainees and apprentices: news, sports, top scoop, features, and podcast journalism. Nominations are also taken for the best student projects.

Performance awards are also available for those who have achieved outstanding results in the Diploma in Journalism, National Qualification in Journalism and the Junior Journalist Apprenticeship.

As a number of accredited courses have extended their course end dates this year due to the pandemic, the Student of the Year shortlist will be announced in the new year.

There were 44 entries for the Community News Project award, now in its second year, which recognises the exceptional work done by reporters under the Community News Project banner.

The judges praised the high standard of entries, and shortlisted five of the community reporters for the award.

The Academy for Disabled Journalists has been shortlisted alongside Glasgow Caledonian University and The Star, Sheffield for this year’s equality, diversity and inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times.

This award, now in its third year, recognises the outstanding work of individuals, educators and employers who promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the media and training sector.

Leeds Trinity University, News Associates and the University of Brighton have been shortlisted for the Innovation of the Year award, which aims to encourage and recognise innovation in journalism education and training.

Awards will also be presented to the colleges, universities and independent providers with the top performing NCTJ-accredited courses based on students’ performance in the Diploma in Journalism.

The winners will be announced in a virtual ceremony in March.

The winner of the 2020 chairman’s award, which recognises a nominated individual’s outstanding contribution to high standards of journalism training and education, will also be announced at the event.

News Journalism

Julia Atherley, News Associates London
Ethan Ennals, PA Training
Benjamin Turner, PA TrainingYasemin Craggs Mersinoglu, FE Week
Abigail Maclure, Yorkshire Evening Post
Jamie Phillips, SurreyLive
Daisy Smith, Watford Observer

Sports Journalism

Josh Graham, News Associates London
George Ramsay, News Associates London
Rachel Steinberg, News Associates LondonMatthew Addison, Liverpool Echo
Niamh Campbell, BBC Sport NI
Tom Ward, Racing Post
Mark Wyatt, KentLive


Alex Diggins, News Associates London
Megan Hinton, Bournemouth University
Sally Nolan, PA Training
Mimi Swaby, News Associates LondonOliver Kemp, KentOnline
Thomas Kingsley, MyLondon
Lydia Stephens, WalesOnline

Podcast journalism

Lewis Adams, University of Essex
Ryan Hesketh, Glasgow Caledonian University
Matthew Shaw, University of LincolnSteve Jones, The Star, Sheffield
Oliver Kemp, KentOnline
Anna Staufenberg, Crowd Network

Best student project

  • The Original High Speed Railway, University of Kent
  • Our Time Election, Bournemouth University
  • Trailblaze magazine, Sunderland University

Apprentice of the year award

  • David Chipakupaku, Sky News/PA Training
  • Anna Maria Colivicchi, Lancashire Post/Sheffield College
  • Hedi Mehrez, Swindon Advertiser/Darlington College
  • James Robinson, Hexham Courant/Darlington College
  • Cree-Summer Haughton, ITV/Bauer Academy
  • Poppie Webster, Basildon Echo/Darlington College

Trainee of the year award

  • Conor Matchett, Edinburgh Evening News
  • Danielle Poole, Dudley News
  • Jacob Thorburn, The Comet

Innovation of the year award

  • Leeds Trinity University
  • News Associates
  • University of Brighton

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion award, sponsored by the Financial Times

  • Academy for Disabled Journalists
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • The Star, Sheffield

Community News Project award

  • Alison Bagley, Northamptonshire Telegraph
  • Rakeem Hyatt, BirminghamLive
  • Oliver Kemp, KentOnline
  • Emily White, LincolnshireLive
  • James Vukmirovic, Express & Star



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Behind Local News

Behind Local News

A place to share the stories behind the stories